Orange Juice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
There is just no way one could say they made this recipe "exactly" and have it turn out. (Assuming you're using the Bundt cake pan called for in the recipe) Any cake mix bundt recipe needs to bake between 50-60 minutes, not 25 minutes as written. This discrepancy makes this recipe fatally flawed right from the start, in my opinion. Experienced cooks will know better, but if a beginner cook baked this and thought it would be done in 25 minutes, they'd wonder what they did wrong. Having said that, the orange flavor was nice, particularly since I added a teaspoon of orange extract to the batter (would have used 1 T. of grated oranze zest if I had it), and used orange juice in the batter as well, rather than the water called for. As for the syrup, in hindsight I'd use only half this recipe. Yes, this definitely is a moist cake, but it really is TOO moist - soggy, in fact, in places where the cake absorbed the syrup more than others. I cannot recommend this recipe as written. However, if you adjust the baking time to 50-60 minutes (mine took 55) and make the changes I made to use orange juice instead of water, add a teaspoon of orange extract or a tablespoon of grated orange zest and reduce the syrup by half this would be a four star, cake mix cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Pamcastle
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I made this cake and it was an instant success. My co-workers gobbled it all up. Wonderful Cake! I made edits to this recipe. 1 Box of Duncan Hines Orange Supreme Cake Mix (instead of the yellow mix) 1 Box of Orange Jello mix along with 1 Box of the Vanilla Pudding mix Orange Zest added to cake mix. I also add the orange zest to the glaze. When still hot in the pan, I poke holes in the cake and pour the glaze over the cake. Let it sit for 15 minutes to absorb all of the mixture before flipping the cake. All the juice should be absorbed into the cake before flipped. I love this cake and will plan on making it again. It WAS TRULY A HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcastle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I've been making this for years, I got the recipe from my aunt. I double the pudding and add orange zest to make it even more moist and add a bit more orange flavor. No matter where I take it, its gone in a flash. Good for breakfast too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This cake is very good:glaze is very moist and delicious. 5 stars: orange supreme cake mix, not yellow, and adding more sauce. I baked in a regular cake pan, not a bundt pan, and it took about 40 minutes. It is soooooooo good! The glaze is delicious! I don't even like cake, and I was in heaven with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Delicious - plus it's so simple to make! You'd really never know it was a boxed cake - it's that good! It's very moist and bursting with orange flavor - what more could you ask for from such a simple recipe! I do agree however that the directions need a little revising and the ingredients need a little "tweaking" to heighten the orange flavor thus the 4 stars vs. 5. But, I wouldn't down grade the recipe completely. To heighten the orange flavor I used 3/4 cup of orange juice vs. 1 cup of water and 1 tsp of orange extract along with a Tbsp of orange zest. And, I did bake it at 325 for 55 minutes. Other than that, this makes for a delicious dessert! This cake is perfect when you don't have time to make a scratch cake but want something that tastes like you did. It baked up perfectly and even though the recipe for the glaze could probably be cut in half it really does add to the cake. Once it was cooled, I couldn't resist drizzling some melted white chocolate over it for a bit of contrast and to take it over the top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by NSUNRISE
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I used 1 cup of oj instead of water and omitted the oj sauce. I covered it with orange flavored buttercream. Huge success at the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSUNRISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I added Grand Marnier to the glaze...c'est magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I made this cake in the hope that it would be "orange" and it wasn't. I ended up with a moist cake that tasted like a yellow cake. I used fresh OJ too! I was a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a wonderful and moist cake. I had made this before I saw it here on the Allrecipes website. The only thing I did different was ... I use one cup of orange juice instead of one cup of water added to the cake mix, pudding, oil and eggs. And I used butter recipe yellow cake mix instead of just regular yellow cake mix. Good cake to share with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Super easy, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by das0421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States