Orange Juice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Made this cake yesterday when looking for a bundt cake. Like others I added an extra pack of vanilla pudding to the mix, and some orange peel. To make the cake turn orange I also added a pack of orange jello mix to the dry ingredients. Cake turned out really nice, but needed to be baked for at least 45-50 minutes....not 30. Overall a success and a keeper to my recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRADY'S LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
The cake was wonderful, but I added a little less butter so I could really taste the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Wonderful idea! I actually changed the recipe a lot since I did not have a cake mix or pudding mix on hand, but the idea is what gets the 5 star rating since I would not have thought of that myself! Definately should use some orange zest in the batter and in the glaze. My husband and guests LOVED it and also thought it was very unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I have made this twice. The first time it was perfect and delicious! Both of the next tries fell completely and were a soggy mess. I think I used the original recipe that Pam Castle refers to the first time time I made it but I can't find it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I added a second box of pudding mix to the ingredients, as another reviewer suggested, and I added orange zest to the batter (about 1/2 large orange). The batter was VERY thick (climb-up-the-beaters THICK), so I added a couple tablespoons of OJ, and it was still very thick (wanted to add more OJ, but was afraid it wouldn't bake right). The cake took 50 minutes to bake. I added zest to the sauce also (the other half of the orange). 5 minutes after it came out of the oven, I used a bamboo skewer to poke holes in it. Left it in the pan and slowly poured the sauce over it. It's alot of liquid for the cake to absorb, and probably takes a good 1/2 hour or more for that to happen. Haven't tasted it yet, but it smells great! Will update later about the taste. IT'S VERY GOOD! Let cool overnight, and dusted with powdered sugar in the morning. Took some to work and everyone loves it! Definitely use the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Norman Hastings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
My first try with this recipe was unaltered from the recipe (other than using French Vanilla pudding instead of Vanilla), and it was a hit. I personally thought it was a little too sugary, but I was a minority. In fact, I was asked to make it again for a dinner, and I plan to try adding orange zest to the glaze and orange jello to the cake. Also, I had to bake my cake in a bundt pan for 40-45 minutes before the knife came out without batter on it, and poured the glaze on pretty much directly out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I followed the others' instructions - added orange jello, and orange zest. This cake was fabulous! I had 4 teenagers and 3 adults eating, and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This cake is very good:glaze is very moist and delicious. 5 stars: orange supreme cake mix, not yellow, and adding more sauce. I baked in a regular cake pan, not a bundt pan, and it took about 40 minutes. It is soooooooo good! The glaze is delicious! I don't even like cake, and I was in heaven with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I'm not too impressed. It was yummy to an extent, but not orange-y enough. It just tasted like a simple yellow cake. The orange flavor was barley there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Good flavor, but texture was not pleasant. The orange juice mixture didn't soak through the cake, only about half-way (and I let it sit for a long time!). So the bottom half of the cake was soggy and greasy from the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States