Orange Juice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
There is just no way one could say they made this recipe "exactly" and have it turn out. (Assuming you're using the Bundt cake pan called for in the recipe) Any cake mix bundt recipe needs to bake between 50-60 minutes, not 25 minutes as written. This discrepancy makes this recipe fatally flawed right from the start, in my opinion. Experienced cooks will know better, but if a beginner cook baked this and thought it would be done in 25 minutes, they'd wonder what they did wrong. Having said that, the orange flavor was nice, particularly since I added a teaspoon of orange extract to the batter (would have used 1 T. of grated oranze zest if I had it), and used orange juice in the batter as well, rather than the water called for. As for the syrup, in hindsight I'd use only half this recipe. Yes, this definitely is a moist cake, but it really is TOO moist - soggy, in fact, in places where the cake absorbed the syrup more than others. I cannot recommend this recipe as written. However, if you adjust the baking time to 50-60 minutes (mine took 55) and make the changes I made to use orange juice instead of water, add a teaspoon of orange extract or a tablespoon of grated orange zest and reduce the syrup by half this would be a four star, cake mix cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by followthebeat
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I didn't have a box of yellow cake mix on hand so I just used some of the dry ingredients from the Joy of Cooking recipe (2 2/3 cups flour, 2 1/4 baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 1/2 cups sugar). I also only had regular vanilla pudding mix (not instant), but that seemed to work just fine. After combining the ingredients and adding the water, it didn't have the orange flavor, so I added 1/2 cup of orange juice and 1/8 teaspoon orange extract. I ended up having to bake the cake for 45-50 min, but once it was finished and had soaked up with liquid mixture, it was great. Next time I'll try using orange juice instead of water and adding orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by followthebeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
MmmMmm good! Loved it, loved it, loved it but I don't put oil in my cakes, I always use applesauce...and I added some orange zest for extra flavor. My family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a wonderful and moist cake. I had made this before I saw it here on the Allrecipes website. The only thing I did different was ... I use one cup of orange juice instead of one cup of water added to the cake mix, pudding, oil and eggs. And I used butter recipe yellow cake mix instead of just regular yellow cake mix. Good cake to share with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
WOW! Is all I can say! This is the best pound / bundt cake I have ever eaten. If you want a moist cake, you got it. This cake is all around wonderful and i followed recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Yummy! I used Lemon cause I did'nt have orange...everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Wow..this is a wonderful cake! This is the best recipe I've tried to date. I did add orange jello to the cake and added 1/4 tsp. orange extract and 1/4 tsp. orange zest to the glaze. It deserves more stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This cake was so moist! Very mild flavor, not too sweet. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
So moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Cake was moist and tasty. I found by using only 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup OJ the orange flavor was more pronounced. It is defaintly a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States