Orange Juice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Wow- was this cake good! Only thing I did different was add a box of orange jello (I wanted to color the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I have made this cake multiple times, and it has always been a hit. I add some Triple Sec to the glaze for a little extra orange kick. The cake always comes out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was a big hit at our Christmas Breakfast. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
So delicious! Changed it up a bit sub-ing vanilla for the lemon and adding zest and a touch of rum. It is a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! My husband & uncle praised this cake. Considering they are picky eaters, I take it as a sure compliment! I added orange extract to the cake batter. I decorated the cake ring with Christmas trinkets to make it look festive. I will surely be making this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Not very good. I think it was a little dry. Surprisingly the pudding did not help so much to add to the moisture. The glaze was too runny and there was not enough to make it as gooey as we would have wanted. All in all it was not great, I would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crusie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
There is just no way one could say they made this recipe "exactly" and have it turn out. (Assuming you're using the Bundt cake pan called for in the recipe) Any cake mix bundt recipe needs to bake between 50-60 minutes, not 25 minutes as written. This discrepancy makes this recipe fatally flawed right from the start, in my opinion. Experienced cooks will know better, but if a beginner cook baked this and thought it would be done in 25 minutes, they'd wonder what they did wrong. Having said that, the orange flavor was nice, particularly since I added a teaspoon of orange extract to the batter (would have used 1 T. of grated oranze zest if I had it), and used orange juice in the batter as well, rather than the water called for. As for the syrup, in hindsight I'd use only half this recipe. Yes, this definitely is a moist cake, but it really is TOO moist - soggy, in fact, in places where the cake absorbed the syrup more than others. I cannot recommend this recipe as written. However, if you adjust the baking time to 50-60 minutes (mine took 55) and make the changes I made to use orange juice instead of water, add a teaspoon of orange extract or a tablespoon of grated orange zest and reduce the syrup by half this would be a four star, cake mix cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by followthebeat
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I didn't have a box of yellow cake mix on hand so I just used some of the dry ingredients from the Joy of Cooking recipe (2 2/3 cups flour, 2 1/4 baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 1/2 cups sugar). I also only had regular vanilla pudding mix (not instant), but that seemed to work just fine. After combining the ingredients and adding the water, it didn't have the orange flavor, so I added 1/2 cup of orange juice and 1/8 teaspoon orange extract. I ended up having to bake the cake for 45-50 min, but once it was finished and had soaked up with liquid mixture, it was great. Next time I'll try using orange juice instead of water and adding orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by followthebeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
MmmMmm good! Loved it, loved it, loved it but I don't put oil in my cakes, I always use applesauce...and I added some orange zest for extra flavor. My family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a wonderful and moist cake. I had made this before I saw it here on the Allrecipes website. The only thing I did different was ... I use one cup of orange juice instead of one cup of water added to the cake mix, pudding, oil and eggs. And I used butter recipe yellow cake mix instead of just regular yellow cake mix. Good cake to share with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States