Orange Juice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I am giving this a 4* as for me this was how the cake turned out with a few changes. I feel that how the recipe is written the cake would not make as good a cake, firstly the cook time I think is too far off. A 30 minutes a Bundt cake of this size would turn out a gooey mess. I baked my cake for a total of 50 minutes. I used a BC Yellow cake mix, orange juice instead of the water. I always use a mixture of walnut oil and applesauce in place of vegetable oil and I also added a packet of orange sugerfree Jello (also used the Vanilla pudding mix, the recipe called for). I wanted a chocolate orange marble effect to the cake. To a 1/3 of the batter I added a little cocoa and some chocolate syrup. The cake turned out like I expected with a nice moist orange taste. I guess it taste's one up from the orange soda cake I have made in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This recipe is a good base, but the one thing that will make this cake POP! is substituting the vanilla pudding with 1 small pkg. of orange Jello. It brings the orange flavor everyone is looking for. TRY IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renae92

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NSUNRISE
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I used 1 cup of oj instead of water and omitted the oj sauce. I covered it with orange flavored buttercream. Huge success at the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSUNRISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very moist cake. I recplaced the oil with applesauce and used an orange juice glaze made with orange juice, orange extract and powdered sugar. Took to the teacher's lounge and it was gone in a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Wow- was this cake good! Only thing I did different was add a box of orange jello (I wanted to color the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I have made this cake multiple times, and it has always been a hit. I add some Triple Sec to the glaze for a little extra orange kick. The cake always comes out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was a big hit at our Christmas Breakfast. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
So delicious! Changed it up a bit sub-ing vanilla for the lemon and adding zest and a touch of rum. It is a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! My husband & uncle praised this cake. Considering they are picky eaters, I take it as a sure compliment! I added orange extract to the cake batter. I decorated the cake ring with Christmas trinkets to make it look festive. I will surely be making this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Not very good. I think it was a little dry. Surprisingly the pudding did not help so much to add to the moisture. The glaze was too runny and there was not enough to make it as gooey as we would have wanted. All in all it was not great, I would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crusie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States