Orange Juice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
A good cake for a change. I'm not sure I would make it too often. I subbed orange juice for the water in the recipe and added a bit of water to lighten up the batter. You don't need as much glaze as called for as it overpowers the cake and makes it soggy. I like a firmer texture to serve on a plate instead of a bowl. A nice fresh taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Fruity and moist cake. Too much glaze. No way the cake can hold all of it. Would cut it back by half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Problem solved. If cake is stuck due to the icing, add hot water to a bowl and dip the cake pan in for a moment. This will melt the icing enough to turn the cake out. This cake is wonderful. Instead of the 1 cup water I added 1 cup orange juice to the cake mix. It was too stiff, so I added 1/3 cup of extra water. My cake needed 10 extra minutes baking time. I let it cool in the pan, than poked it with a fork and poured the warm glaze over it. I did reduce the glaze by 1/3 and it was plenty. It turned out to be a lovely orange cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This didn't taste bad (re: one-star-rating) but it didnt' really taste like orange juice (hence the one-star-rating). I wanted this to be the "equivalent" of a lemon cake I make, but orange flavor... this missed the mark by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious cake. I prefer to make in a cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This cake tasted really good...but this is the first of many bundt cakes I've made over the years that would NOT come out of the pan. It ended up breaking in half!!!! I used a lot of Pam and thoroughly coated the pan, just like I always do. I used satsuma juice instead of OJ, so MAYBE that's why but who knows? It did taste really moist and I did receive good comments about it (after I pieced it back together and used a melted cream cheese icing drizzled on it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Convent, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA
Photo by Ice Cream Kisses
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
In reading the reviews I had to adjust a few things... baked for 40 minutes.... and used 1 small package of orange jello as well as substituted oj for the water in cake mix... only used about 1/2 to 3/4 of glaze and allowed to sit in pan for an additional 20 minutes to soak...was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ice Cream Kisses

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this once exactly like it said in the recipe but thought that it needed a little something so the second time, I used the orange supreme cake mix, orange juice in the batter as someone else mentioned, and lemon instant pudding mix. It was a lot better. I also used half the syrup and frosterd it with butter cream icing. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Morrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States