Orange Juice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
My mom came home with this recipe years ago and now I make it for my husband, its his favorite cake.I add a little OJ to the batter while mixing....Super Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I thought this was completely amazing! I did follow another reviewer's suggestions and used oj in place of water, added orange zest to batter and syrup and halved the syrup. My hubby had some for breakfast every morning! It's fabulous and I swear it gets better each day! I also cooked it for about 50 minutes, and used a long skewer to poke the holes. I used a flat tube pan and poured the juice very slowly over a still warm cake with a spoon, letting it ooze over the sides at will and then removed the outer ring after about 15 minutes. I never attempted to pull the cake off the inner tube... it did seem kind of fragile but who cares, I merely cut the slices! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Barrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I will agree the recipe is fatally flawed with cooking time. I as well, replaced the water with about 1 & 1/4 of orange juice because it would not have had an orange flavor otherwise. The cake WILL NOT come out an orange color unless you tint it with food coloring, which I did. I am also omitting the butter in the 'sauce' recipe and will use just sugar & OJ. I'm also going to make an orange glaze for it instead of just dusting with powdered sugar. An orange glaze poured over top after using the 'sauce' will top it off in my opinion instead of just dusting. Instead of bottled OJ, I'm going to use concentrated/frozen OJ by the way for the sauce and glaze so it will have that orange flavored "punch" it need. I'm one that adjusts the recipe about 90% of the time if it "just doesn't sound right". I also cut the pudding additive in half because I was also afraid it would be too moist after pouring the orange sauce. Good luck to future bakers with this recipe...you also might want to adjust as according to other user's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Foxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
A good cake for a change. I'm not sure I would make it too often. I subbed orange juice for the water in the recipe and added a bit of water to lighten up the batter. You don't need as much glaze as called for as it overpowers the cake and makes it soggy. I like a firmer texture to serve on a plate instead of a bowl. A nice fresh taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Fruity and moist cake. Too much glaze. No way the cake can hold all of it. Would cut it back by half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Problem solved. If cake is stuck due to the icing, add hot water to a bowl and dip the cake pan in for a moment. This will melt the icing enough to turn the cake out. This cake is wonderful. Instead of the 1 cup water I added 1 cup orange juice to the cake mix. It was too stiff, so I added 1/3 cup of extra water. My cake needed 10 extra minutes baking time. I let it cool in the pan, than poked it with a fork and poured the warm glaze over it. I did reduce the glaze by 1/3 and it was plenty. It turned out to be a lovely orange cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This didn't taste bad (re: one-star-rating) but it didnt' really taste like orange juice (hence the one-star-rating). I wanted this to be the "equivalent" of a lemon cake I make, but orange flavor... this missed the mark by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious cake. I prefer to make in a cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States