Orange Juice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Delicious. I had no problems with the recipe as written. The next time I bake it, I'll use orange juice in place of water. I will try other juices, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Danger: you may want to eat this whole cake before guests even arrive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Delicious - plus it's so simple to make! You'd really never know it was a boxed cake - it's that good! It's very moist and bursting with orange flavor - what more could you ask for from such a simple recipe! I do agree however that the directions need a little revising and the ingredients need a little "tweaking" to heighten the orange flavor thus the 4 stars vs. 5. But, I wouldn't down grade the recipe completely. To heighten the orange flavor I used 3/4 cup of orange juice vs. 1 cup of water and 1 tsp of orange extract along with a Tbsp of orange zest. And, I did bake it at 325 for 55 minutes. Other than that, this makes for a delicious dessert! This cake is perfect when you don't have time to make a scratch cake but want something that tastes like you did. It baked up perfectly and even though the recipe for the glaze could probably be cut in half it really does add to the cake. Once it was cooled, I couldn't resist drizzling some melted white chocolate over it for a bit of contrast and to take it over the top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I also changed the water for OJ, I added 1 Tbsp of orange zest. The only problem I faced was that the cake broke in pieces when flipping it over. Maybe next time I'll wait until it cools down, unmold it, move it back to the mold and then pour the orange sauce. The taste was delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Excellent! I made this according to the recipe and it came out perfect! Thanks Debbie for a really wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Well I just want to say I have my cake baking now in a 9x13 pan, but did not have yellow cake and used spice cake mix, and also no vanilla pudding mix, but used butterscotch and also used 1cup of oj instead of water, the batter taste great, I do have my oj,sugar and butter in pot ready to go after cake is done. I will tell all of you how it turns out. I am the type of person who likes to change things around if I do not have what it's called for, 99% of the times everything come out great. I thank you for all your recipes I get. Debbie, PS I know this will be a 5 star rating. and it sure was a 5 star rating, I baked it first for 25 min. then checked and did 10 more min. I took out let it cooled I pocked the cake all over then poured the oj mixture on it, My friend came over and he loved it, very very moist. I also took some to my vet office and they loved it. You do not have to be scared if you don't have the correct stuff. See what I did and it came out great. Thanks again. Debbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Good recipe, but I cut out the oil all together, used 1 3/4 cup orange juice, and added orange extract & some orange color. Didn't add the sugar. Oh, and baked for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azeventdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My aunt makes a homemade version of this cake, and it was FANTASTIC, try this cake with a chocolate gnache, it is out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
My mom came home with this recipe years ago and now I make it for my husband, its his favorite cake.I add a little OJ to the batter while mixing....Super Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I thought this was completely amazing! I did follow another reviewer's suggestions and used oj in place of water, added orange zest to batter and syrup and halved the syrup. My hubby had some for breakfast every morning! It's fabulous and I swear it gets better each day! I also cooked it for about 50 minutes, and used a long skewer to poke the holes. I used a flat tube pan and poured the juice very slowly over a still warm cake with a spoon, letting it ooze over the sides at will and then removed the outer ring after about 15 minutes. I never attempted to pull the cake off the inner tube... it did seem kind of fragile but who cares, I merely cut the slices! Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Barrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States