Orange Jewel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
The description says it all: Deeeeeelicious!!!! Very quick and easy to make. I found this recipe, and ten minutes later, I'm writing a review and sipping my Orange Jewel! I used unsweetened orange concentrate, 1% milk, and Breyer's double churned vanilla ice cream. It turned out perfectly. The only things that I changed was that I used about 12 ice cubes, because I prefer a thicker drink, and I found that I only needed a tablespoon of sugar, the ice cream and orange concentrate were very sweet to begin with, and I'd rather not have an over-sugary shake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Made as is except for vanilla frozen yogurt instead of ice cream. This is pretty good and very easy. Although it does not need the sugar and I would not use that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Delious! The sugur was WAY to much, though. I used only 1 tablespoon of the 1/2 cup it called for, yet it still seemed slightly too sweet. Probably just leave out the sugur all together next time. But great recipe!!!! Would give 6 stars if could. :) Thanks Kate for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Delicious summertime drink. Good without ice cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
pretty good, I didn't add the sugar per the other reviewers and I'm glad I didn't. Next time I might even buy unsweetened orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carebear05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was a realy GOOD recipe, thanks 4 sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Delicious although a bit too sweet. We cut the sugar back to 1/4 cup and it was still a bit too sweet for us. Perhaps only a tbsp or two for us next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
For a healthy twist on this, replace the milk and half of the water with coconut milk (good for those who are lactose intolerant or allergic to dairy), then replace the other half of water with soy French vanilla creamer, then replace the sugar with 1/2 that amount of agave nectar (because it is low-glycemic) and use French vanilla extract in place of regular vanilla. For the ice cream, you can use either soy or coconut yogurt OR soy or coconut ice cream. This may not end up quite as tasty as when it is made with cow breast secretions (milk), but it is still good enough that my kids love it and they are very picky, generally only liking things with lots of refined fats and/or sugars, wheat & dairy (everything that makes people sick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyceia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
As Kate said, and I have to agree with her "Deeeeeelicious!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutiegurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Carrot and Orange Juice

Use your juicer to make a quick, fresh, and delicious morning drink.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States