Orange Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Love this recipe! Although it calls for too much tahini (I used only 1 TBSP). I've tried it with many other "marmalade" type items and it is always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a pretty good basic recipe. I decided to give it a try because I thought the addition of the orange might win over my wife, who has previously been pretty wary of hummus. She loved the result... if she was writing this, it would get 5 stars, instead of the 4 I give it. I made the recipe as written, except for the following changes: 1) I used Smuchers Sugar Free Orange Marmelade in place of the Low Sugar product listed in the recipe; and 2) I thought the recipe as written might be a bit bland for my tastes, and I was right when I sampled it right after mixing, so I added 1/4 tsp paprika and 2 tsp lemon juice. That made things much better, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This hummus was awesome...with a few adjustments. I used far less tahini - only 1 tablespoon. I used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic - I find that fresh garlic in hummus is just too overpowering. And I added about 1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice. Even with the added lemon juice it was still thicker than we are used to, so next time I'll probably add more. The addition of the marmalade is genius - who would have thought! Definitely a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodFun-GlutenFree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I tried this recipe using Bicks gourmet hot pepper relish, as I didn't have marmalade on hand. Everyone enjoyed the great taste with kick of the hot peppers. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plidder

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Since I seldom use tahini, I’ve stopped buying it because it ends up being thrown out, a waste of money. Instead, I just mix in peanut butter and sesame oil as a replacement which I did with this recipe. I think this is a recipe where you adjust the seasonings to your taste which in my case meant more orange marmalade, more cumin, and a little bit of the bean liquid I’d reserved to reach our preferred consistency. Topped with a drizzle of olive oil and a squeeze of fresh orange. We love hummus, I have a number of recipes that I make, and this one will be added. We liked it, good recipe and different, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
tried this recipe this evening and I'm thrilled with how it turned out! Can't wait to use it for snacktime at the office tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilgeorge

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent taste and soooo simple. Added some fresh parsley and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Very delicious combination! The orange was perfect. My bf, who doesn't like hummus, ate 3 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was very good and different being a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I liked the sweet taste of this variation on hummus and actually thought it had a slight peanut buttery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States