Orange Herb Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by StardustGrindcarver
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This was my first time roasting a whole chicken. It was much easier than I expected. This recipe was really good. I used at least double the amount of fresh herbs. I zested the oranges and mixed it with the butter, herbs, and juice from the oranges, then rubbed it under the skin of the chicken. Only one orange fit in the cavity. I put carrots, potatoes, and mushrooms in the pan around the chicken while it roasted. The chicken was juicy and the flavor of the herbs came through very well, however I couldn't taste much orange. Next time I will just use some orange juice or leave it out all together because it wasn't worth the effort. Overall, it was a very good recipe. In fact, I would give it a 5 if there was more orange flavor. I can't wait to make stock out of the carcass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Not worth the time, effort, or expense. I tend to buy roasters when they are on sale - it's a good family meal. This time I got an 8 pound oven stuffer roaster at 99 cents a pound. Then I had to buy fresh sage, thyme, and rosemary, in order to use four sprigs of each (since the chicken was twice the size), and a pound of butter, and two oranges. So now my $8 chicken costs more like $18, so this is no longer a pocketbook-friendly meal. I read some of the reviews, and I ended up using only a quarter pound of butter, which was more than enough, even for my 8 pound chicken, and I zested the orange and put zest and herbs under the skin along with herbs and juice on the outside. My husband found this recipe, and decided the result was not worth the amount of time I had put into it. The rest of the family agreed. I've cooked roast chicken for half the time upside down since I put a chicken in upside down by mistake years ago. I always end up with a nice juicy chicken that is low in fat and tasty. Add a few dry herbs, and maybe rub a bit of butter over the top to brown it. This didn't even smell good while cooking - the herbs laid across the bird got brown and dry and looked awful. So I don't really think it even rates 3 stars, but I can't say I actually disliked it. But I won't bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I've been cooking this for over 2 hrs and it's still not done. The oranges slow down the cooking big time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Colley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I tried this recipe before as directed and was not impressed. Has anyone tried orange juice instead of the orange halves?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Made this tonight for dinner. My whole family enjoyed this chicken very much. The chicken 7lbs was extremely moist and had great flavor. There was not a strong orange taste which was quite alright with us. Just a hint of orange which we enjoyed. Will make again. Thank You for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I found that the orange taste didn't permeate the meat as well as I expected and I even used the zest! I would use this again, but not necessarily for a whole chicken...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Totally changed it up. Made a basting sauce with brown sugar, juice of two oranges, rosemary, garlic, ginger, salt, pepper, balsamic crème and 2 tblsp olive oil. I let this simmer a bit. Cut my chicken in half. GOt the grill ready. Salt & peppered the chicken, put it on the grill, and part way thru cooking I started basting with the sauce. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Wonderful! I have made this many times, and my family loves it every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was a delicious way to make roast chicken. Plenty of flavor without overdoing it on the orange taste. Will make again. The family thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Based on the reviews, I have left over orange marmalade from another recipes that I will use to increase the orange flavor that others say was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn Piechocki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States