Orange Herb Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I only used half of the butter it calls for and I think it was plenty. I also added some balsalamic vinegar, but I don't think it was enough to make a big difference in the flavors. It came out very moist and tender; I cooked it for 3 hours, and only had it uncovered for the last 20 minutes to give it the nice browned color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This recipe is a great place to start! After reading a lot of reviews, I mixed the herbs, garlic, and orange zest into softened butter and rubbed all over the birds, inside the skin and all around in the cavity (I didn't bother with anything except brushing with butter on the outside of the skin). I shoved tons of orange into my bird, including inside the skin up between the wings and thighs. I roasted breast-side down until the last 20 min (took about two hours for two 4 lb chickens). When they first came out of the oven, the orange smell was really strong, and I worried. But the orange flavour was very subtle in the meat. The chickens turned out falling-off-the-bone tender and juicy! The white meat was more moist than some dark meat I've had. VERY pleased with my first attempt at roasting. This is a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was a great recipe! I followed suggestions to use the zest of two oranges and mixed it with the butter and fresh herbs (any leftover herb butter would be great on salmon the next day). I will most definitely keep and use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was awesome! Best roast chicken I've ever made. After reading the reviews I added orange zest and ground up the herbs and put everything under the skin. I also used a little more chicken broth because I had a larger pan and added potatoes and carrots. I accidentally forgot the garlic but this came out so good it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This recipe was EXTREMELY easy to make and the Chicken came out extremely moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I tried this last night and it was awesome. I just happened to have all the herbs growing outside, except for the sage, so I used (rubbed) sage powder. I used mandarin oranges because I had them on hand and needed to use them up. Like some other reviewers, I chopped the herbs and mixed them with the butter before rubbing on the chicken. Everyone loved this dish, and from now on when I roast chicken, this will be the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucy Wench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I grated the orange peel added it to the herbs and mashed it with softened butter then stuffed it under the skin. I put potato, carrots, small onion in the pan with chicken. I sliced some of the orange and put on top of the breast with tooth picks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Wright Carr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very tasty and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used grapeseed oil rather than butter for dietary reasons. It was a bit too "herb" and not enough "orange" for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States