Orange Herb Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My husband and I were very pleased with this chicken dish. I also made a few substitutions, just because of what I had at home. I used dried herbs instead of fresh, limes instead of orange(didn't have any oranges), and used less butter, only about 4 pats under 4 cuts in the skin. This recipe was delicious! I cooked carrots in the dish around the chicken and added stovetop stuffing the last 30min. So good! Can't wait to try it with an orange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Well I made some changes such as: 1.I just used parsley 2.olive oil in spite of butter 3.add potato with skin in the pan It was marvelous and my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galareh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made this chicken last night and my family gobbled it up! It was quick and easy to prepare and delicious to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I just used this recipe and substituted lemons with the oranges, because I didn't have any oranges... My children devoured it. It was great!!! I also added chopped potatoes around the sides after boiling them from about 10 minutes. mmm-mmm-good!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hulahaqq

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Was not a popular item at our dinner table. To much butter used. To much stock in pan causing a not very acceptable bird. I mixed herbs with butter for under the skin and that did not work very well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I modified it slightly, less butter, crushed garlic & onion with the butter and juice under the skin. I used additional juice - about a cup - and water instead of the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn Gonzalez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I made this recipe using a Capon which is a Rooster. It tasted faboulous, I used Coarse sea salt and I used dry spices, that I had on hand used 1/2 of the butter and I poked holes into the Chicken skin with a fork then I rubbed the salt and spices into the skin, then I drizzled with orange juice and drizzled with butter put in a turkey oven bag and cooked it. If you put your meat in a oven bag then you don't have to baste. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I don't know how someone rated this recipe as expensive. That's just...silly. If you don't like cooking whole chickens, don't do it. I used a large chicken that was marked down. I couldn't fit both oranges inside my chicken with the garlic cloves and butter, so I just used the one. I made the spice mixture and kind of mushed the rosemary and thyme in my hands to not only break up the spices but to bring out the flavor. I took the suggestions of other cooks and roasted it breast down in the beginning and just flipped it near the end with the foil off, to make it pretty and brown. This made for extremely moist and tender breast pieces. I asked my husband to pick out a roast chicken and I admit that I was skeptical at first. It turned out great. I plan on keeping the carcass and juice and making chicken broth. For your money, oranges are always cheap as is garlic and spices. Using the carcass to make chicken broth, you really stretch your money. You could even half the butter and use homemade broth like I did and still come out ahead. This recipe is great! I'd make this again, no question. Great job, Nellie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Wow this recipe was exceptional. The whole family nearly ate their plates. I did make a few adjustments, I used halved garlic under the skin with smart balance spread & added a few extra spices. Instead of broth I used 2 cups of water and added the remaining sliced garlic and melted smart balance to it. Turned out delicously. Will be trying this recipe with my Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very nice roast chicken! I reduced the butter to 1/2 cup melted and skipped the 'under-skin' step (I know a lot of people swear by this, but I've done it both ways and don't buy it,) and used rubbed sage since I didn't have any fresh. Great orange and herb flavor - cooking time was right on. Thanks for the recipe Nellie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States