Orange Herb Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I don't know how someone rated this recipe as expensive. That's just...silly. If you don't like cooking whole chickens, don't do it. I used a large chicken that was marked down. I couldn't fit both oranges inside my chicken with the garlic cloves and butter, so I just used the one. I made the spice mixture and kind of mushed the rosemary and thyme in my hands to not only break up the spices but to bring out the flavor. I took the suggestions of other cooks and roasted it breast down in the beginning and just flipped it near the end with the foil off, to make it pretty and brown. This made for extremely moist and tender breast pieces. I asked my husband to pick out a roast chicken and I admit that I was skeptical at first. It turned out great. I plan on keeping the carcass and juice and making chicken broth. For your money, oranges are always cheap as is garlic and spices. Using the carcass to make chicken broth, you really stretch your money. You could even half the butter and use homemade broth like I did and still come out ahead. This recipe is great! I'd make this again, no question. Great job, Nellie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Wow this recipe was exceptional. The whole family nearly ate their plates. I did make a few adjustments, I used halved garlic under the skin with smart balance spread & added a few extra spices. Instead of broth I used 2 cups of water and added the remaining sliced garlic and melted smart balance to it. Turned out delicously. Will be trying this recipe with my Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very nice roast chicken! I reduced the butter to 1/2 cup melted and skipped the 'under-skin' step (I know a lot of people swear by this, but I've done it both ways and don't buy it,) and used rubbed sage since I didn't have any fresh. Great orange and herb flavor - cooking time was right on. Thanks for the recipe Nellie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This turned out really well for my first roast chicken in the oven. I usually use the slow cooker. I didn't have oranges so I poured some orange juice over it and stuffed it with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I really liked the flavour in this recipe! I was quite generous with all seasonings and it was really tasty. I took the advice of another rater and rubbed the herbs under the skin with the butter. Served it with the allrecipes.com recipe 'Broccoli in Roast Chicken Drippings' and wild rice and it was great! Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
After buying all the ingredients, this recipe wasn't worth the cost or effort. I'm not one who likes carving a cooked chicken either though. The taste was ok, definately better than Walmarts rottiserrie chicken, just very expensive and time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
LOVE THIS !! EASY AND OH SO YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Even better if you cook the chicken upside down until 20 mins before then end of cooking time (approx).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I've made this before and found the results were much better when the softened butter was combined with the herbs and then rubbed under the skin. This way the herb/butter flavour permeated the meat and it was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-99 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States