Orange Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
WoW! Great carrots! As other suggested I thickened it up with cornstarch, added some cinnamon and I only had dark brown sugar. I think the glaze would be great on other things such as fish or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Great - I made this recipe today and it was a big hit. It will be on the menu for Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Easy good recipe. Just not amazing... I am going to try and add spices next time:) thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Oh my goodness, was this fantastic. I can honestly say it was one of the best recipes I've made from here and such a simple one. I didn't have any orange juice, but I remembered I had some concentrated in a can in the freezer from another recipe. While the carrots were cooking I went ahead and scooped out about a forth of a cup, put that in a small bowl, added the brown sugar, salt and just about a TBLS of water, and about 1/2-1 tsp. of cornstarch and mixed it all up, blending well. I also remember another reviewer adding cinnamon, so add a very small amount about an 1/8 of a tsp. When the carrots were done steaming, took out the steamer basket and poured out the water, put the butter in and let it melt and poured in the orange juice/sugar mixture. Stirred well to blend and added the carrots. As it heated it thickened and produced the most magnificent glaze I have ever tasted. Every single carrot was just beautifully covered in this thick glaze. I will always use this recipe!! I think the concentrated oj made it a little more pronounced and loved it. Thank you so much for sharing this. Goes wonderful with pork chops or any main course for that matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Fantastic! I made this recipe to serve 45 people. I doubled the glaze to be sure I had plenty. This is the first side dish I have given 5 stars. I did add cornstarch to thicken as other reviewers suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
was really looking foward to this as my husband hates carrots so I am always looking for a way to get him to eat them. this came out terrible maybe it was human error dont see how so I gave it 2 stars just in case, I dont know but I threw them out after we tried them once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I added tarragon and a little molasses for an even tastier carrot dish. Tarragon is great with carrots and a touch of molasses during cooking makes it even richer. A little molasses goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BiDi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
modified the recipe a tad, as honey is better for you than brown sugar. Added two tablespoons of honey and changed the salt for Mrs. Dash's, about a pinch or so......turned out outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is a great way of serving carrots, the sweetness really complements the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I like these carrots. I only used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, as 3 is too sweet for my taste. Also added 1 tsp of corn starch, as others suggested, to thicken -- thus, the four stars. Love the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States