Orange-Glazed Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Wow, this was really a pleasant surprise! I really liked it. Changes I made: 1) I used 1 cup of orange juice to create more sauce; 2) I don't have a 12" frying pan with a lid, so I substituted a Dutch oven-it worked great; and 3) I turned down the heat after pulling the asparagus out so the sauce wouldn't burn (oranges have a high amount of sugar). Next time: 1)I may add cumin or other dried spice next time to thicken the glaze and spice it up, depending on the main dish and 2) to avoid undesireable day after "asparagus side effects," next time I will use broccoli. That's the only reason I would give 4 stars, but that's not the fault of the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is easily the best asparagus I have ever made. I ended up using high pulp orange juice which slightly thickened the sauce and gave it great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
this gets a 5 star rating because it was very quick (about 7 minutes) and tasted delicious. i made the recipe exactly as it is and it turned out very well. i'm sure that adding pecans or other things would also be very good, but it is delicious without as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Deeeeeeeeliggggghhhhhttttttfull recipe. Loved the flavor and never would have thought about using orange instead of lemon or lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
What a simple and elegant accompaniment to this year's Thanksgiving turkey! I will make this a tradition. Goes very well with the "Cranberry Sweet Potato Bake" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was delicious and much better than other recipes because it calls for so little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
GREAT way to cook asparagus! Im a vegan and found this to be a great dish to feed to my non vegan friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was really good. Even my daughter, who whined heartily about having to eat at least one piece raised her eyebrows and said "Mmmm" and ate more. My husband prefers another method I usually use, but said it was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Loved it! I will say that I made it with green beans, but I switch back and forth between green beans and asparagus recipes all the time. I will definitely make this with asparagus next time it's on sale. Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Five stars for being quick and delicious! I really liked this recipe. Making the sauce ahead of time and then adding the asparagus a few four minutes before the sauce is done (when it is already thick), seems like the best option to get the glaze. I think I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States