Orange-Glazed Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Since I wasn't sure of how the orange idea would go over with us, I opted out of the orange zest and I think this was perfect without it. The orange juice caramelizes quickly, so watch carefully as it reduces! The citrus flavor is a great match for the asparagus and the glaze is beautiful drizzled over the asparagus and on the serving plate. Unique and refreshingly different contrast of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Wow, this was really a pleasant surprise! I really liked it. Changes I made: 1) I used 1 cup of orange juice to create more sauce; 2) I don't have a 12" frying pan with a lid, so I substituted a Dutch oven-it worked great; and 3) I turned down the heat after pulling the asparagus out so the sauce wouldn't burn (oranges have a high amount of sugar). Next time: 1)I may add cumin or other dried spice next time to thicken the glaze and spice it up, depending on the main dish and 2) to avoid undesireable day after "asparagus side effects," next time I will use broccoli. That's the only reason I would give 4 stars, but that's not the fault of the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
To me it was a little salty. Will try again but with less salt..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
this gets a 5 star rating because it was very quick (about 7 minutes) and tasted delicious. i made the recipe exactly as it is and it turned out very well. i'm sure that adding pecans or other things would also be very good, but it is delicious without as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
We love asparagus just about any way it is served, and this was one more easy and yummy way to serve it. Next time I will add some arrowroot to the orange juice before serving to thicken it so it will be more like a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These were really good as written. The only change I made was to use tangerine juice and zest. I also threw in some fresh tangerine slices during the last minute which was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I was looking for a side to have with my baja chicken and this was even better than it sounds. I followed the directions exactly and it was really easy to pull together and totally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I thought this was good. As another reviewer questioned...how much is a bunch? I know at the supermarket the asparagus is normally sold in bunches, but I don't know if they are "bunched" in any uniform way. Anyway, I did cut the recipe down to only two servings but did add a little extra orange juice and zest. The orange adds a nice tangy zip to it. The sauce never thickened up so I just poured it over and enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I thought this was pretty good but it could use some more spices. I opted out of the zest since my husband generally does not prefer the texture, however, if I make this again I will include it. There was not enough orange flavor to suit me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
GREAT way to cook asparagus! Im a vegan and found this to be a great dish to feed to my non vegan friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States