Orange-Glazed Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Wow, this was really a pleasant surprise! I really liked it. Changes I made: 1) I used 1 cup of orange juice to create more sauce; 2) I don't have a 12" frying pan with a lid, so I substituted a Dutch oven-it worked great; and 3) I turned down the heat after pulling the asparagus out so the sauce wouldn't burn (oranges have a high amount of sugar). Next time: 1)I may add cumin or other dried spice next time to thicken the glaze and spice it up, depending on the main dish and 2) to avoid undesireable day after "asparagus side effects," next time I will use broccoli. That's the only reason I would give 4 stars, but that's not the fault of the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
What a simple and elegant accompaniment to this year's Thanksgiving turkey! I will make this a tradition. Goes very well with the "Cranberry Sweet Potato Bake" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Deeeeeeeeliggggghhhhhttttttfull recipe. Loved the flavor and never would have thought about using orange instead of lemon or lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Very good. I cooked the asparagus for a couple of extra minutes with the glaze instead of just pouring it on the cooked asparagus. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Yummy and easy. Next time I will add almonds or pecans, but this was fine as a simple side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I should have followed the advice to add the Arrowroot powder to thicken the sauce. The flavor was good, but I would have prefered a 'sauce' rather than juice in the bottom of the bowl. That aside, it passed the kid test, so we'll definately be eating it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
this gets a 5 star rating because it was very quick (about 7 minutes) and tasted delicious. i made the recipe exactly as it is and it turned out very well. i'm sure that adding pecans or other things would also be very good, but it is delicious without as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
We love asparagus just about any way it is served, and this was one more easy and yummy way to serve it. Next time I will add some arrowroot to the orange juice before serving to thicken it so it will be more like a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I used fresh orange juice and I added a few toasted pecan. The pecan made a major difference. But overall this recipe was just , OK. I will not be making this again. It just didn't quite work for me. Maybe I am doing something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
My husband raved over the flavor of this asparagus. Extremely quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States