Orange-Glazed Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Not being sure how much a "bunch" would be (at my store it's sold in 1-pound bundles) I took a pound bundle to be a "bunch". It wasn't. One pound seems to me to be approximately 3 bunches, because I divided the servings down to 3 and thought I'd have liked to have tripled the sauce :-) This was good, but not great. I prefer the admittedly less healthy recipes using butter and/or Parmesan. Thanks for the recipe though, it *was* good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I didn't realize I was out of EVOO, so I used some half EVOO/Canola oil mixture I found in the cupboards. The glaze didn't thicken for me even after 5 or 6 minutes, so I just gave up and poured what I had over the asparagus. It steamed nicely, but I didn't notice that much orange flavor. My grandma and little sister loved the consistency of the asparagus, but only my grandma commented about the "extra dimension" of flavor that the orange added. I wasn't sure if she was just saying that to be nice because she knew how I made it, or if she just noticed it the most because she got the first serving of asparagus and the orange didn't saturate to the bottom of the asparagus pile. I'll probably try making it again with pure EVOO and soak the asparagus in the orange juice for a bit before cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My 9 yr old LOVED it. That alone should sell anyone. I actually let the asparagus soak in the orange juice for an hour or so before cooking. There is NOT an overpowering orange flavor. I liked it but didnt love it. I will make it again. Anything green the kids will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I was a little skeptical at first about how the citrus flavor would combine with the asparagus taste, but it was really yummy after it sat in the juices for a bit. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This has a very nice sweetish flavor that's quite different from typical asparagus recipes and it's very refreshing. The zest definitely adds flavor to the glaze and I would highly recommend adding it. I would add a little bit of spice to make the final flavor profile more interesting. Otherwise it tends to be a little too sweet (hence one star less). I would recommend adding some mild paprika or chili flakes and some cumin powder to increase the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I love Asparagus and usually only steam it crisp. I tried this recipe as I had people over and wanted something more impressive. I didn't like the bitter taste of the orange peel, I think it would taste better without the last step. Might make it again without the peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Although I ended up overcooking the asparagus, this recipe was fabulous! I love the idea to use orange juice to create a delicious glaze for an already tasty veggie. Everyone at the dinner party thought it was a great new way to play with flavors and create a wonderful side dish...and in such a short amount of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was very good...will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I love asparagus, but I hated this recipe. So did my dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States