Orange-Ginger Tofu Triangles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
As other reviewers suggested, I cut back the oil significantly. This was ok but the tartness of the vinegar really overwhelmed the other ingredients. If I were to make this again i think I would add some honey to mellow out the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Made this as the recipe stated and it was good! I will make it again but with modifications. First, make sure you have EXTRA firm tofu. I didn't and it was a little mushy. Also, I'd add some brown sugar to taste and cut back on the oil. I've made tofu before and if you like more of a 'chicken nugget' texture..freeze the tofu before marinating it. All in all...a good recipe to tinker with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Great recipe. Less oil is def. needed. I use 2 tblspoons olive oil and 2-3 drops of sesame oil. Using the 4 teaspoons of sesame really, really overpowers. I also found it best to freeze the tofu after pressing the water out. Freezing for about an hour allows tofu to be cut into into thinner pieces without it falling apart. I followed previous advice and I bake with all the marinade, turning tofu over halfway and then either letting moisture cook to a yummy glaze, takes about 1.5 hr or I take it out after an hour and serve the marinade over rice for a full meal. These tofu triangles also work great in curry dishes! The baked marinade really helps the tofu keep it's form in the hot skillet full of coconut milk and curry and it adds an extra depth of flavor to the curry dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These are very tasty and easy to make. I didn't drain the marinade off before I baked them because I wanted sauce for the rice. My only problem with the recipe, hence the 4 stars instead of 5, is that the marinating time should be included in the total time. I ended up not eating this on the night I planned to because I thought it would be ready in 1 hour and 25 minutes. It did taste delicious the next night, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I loved these flavors! I actually would've preferred more of the sauce. I pan fried these after they came out of the oven and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I was so excited to try this but then let down when it was finished. All I could taste was the soy sauce, such a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very tasty stuff! I use Bragg's Aminos instead of soy sauce and season accordingly. Even my 'meat & potatoes" husband enjoyed this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I've made this several times and it is always a hit with vegetarians and meat eaters alike. I typically marinade the tofu in a large ziplock bag over night. Doing that really soaks up the orange and ginger. This recipe is good baked, grilled or in a noodle salad cold. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was delcious! A few changes I made: 1) I didn't have any green onions, so I chopped up white onions and laid them on top of the tofu to bake. They came out great 2) I also didn't have fresh cilantro so I used a pinch of dried cilantro over each triangle. 3) While the tofu was baking, I sauteed fresh broccoli & bell papper (what I had in my fridge) in the marinade (as other reviewers have mentioned, there is a LOT left) until tender but crisp. THey were a perfect addition to the meal! I served all over brown rice with a side of Sriracha...amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by los angeles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These tofu triangles are delicious! I took some advice from the other reviewers and used about 2 tbsp canola oil instead of 1/3 cup. Couldn't have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States