Orange-Ginger Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this recipe vegan by omitting the eggs and milk. I also omitted the salt & pepper and added some cinnamon. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
A much healthier alternative to traditional sweet potatoes. I left off the pecans (nut allergies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I prefer the sweeter version of sweet potatoes, but this was a good alternative. I added about 2 tablespoons of half & half to make it creamier, and used more OJ than written. I also added extra ginger powder and about a tablespoon of red pepper powder because it seemed like it was very plain. I used a potato masher to smash the mixture, and cooked the potatoes in the microwave. Much easier than the oven and a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was a great, healthy alternative to the regular sweet potato casseroles that are loaded with sugar. Since I made it just for me I used two cups of sweet potatoes and then kind of guessed on the quantities of the rest of the ingredients. I think it was even better the next day. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I took these to Thanksgiving dinner and they were a real hit! I followed the recipe exactly, except for using a whole egg instead of two yolks, and I used 2 tablespoons of ginger. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is a keeper! I have never liked the traditional candied sweet potatoes. All the sweet potato recipes I have tried are way too sweet. This is so much better! I didnt like the idea of milk and orange juice together so I used 3Tbs of butter instead. I used 2 large sweet potatoes and kept the amounts of everything else the same. I used the whip with my stand mixer instead of a food processor. I served this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit. Most of us agreed that leaving off the pecans would be better, but that is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoastMama
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Made for Thanksgiving this year and Easter! Even the kidlet loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoastMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used 1 % milk,and a salt substitute with unsweetened orange juice.D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!!!! Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I like this version of sweet potato casserole. Not sickly sweet like others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was the best recipe that I have ever made off of this website. It was AWESOME! I made this for THanksgiving with my family yesterday and it was a HUGE hit. I did make one adjustment. I doubled the Ginger, it was perfect as my family really likes the flavor of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber_in_PDX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States