Orange-Ginger Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this recipe vegan by omitting the eggs and milk. I also omitted the salt & pepper and added some cinnamon. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
A much healthier alternative to traditional sweet potatoes. I left off the pecans (nut allergies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I prefer the sweeter version of sweet potatoes, but this was a good alternative. I added about 2 tablespoons of half & half to make it creamier, and used more OJ than written. I also added extra ginger powder and about a tablespoon of red pepper powder because it seemed like it was very plain. I used a potato masher to smash the mixture, and cooked the potatoes in the microwave. Much easier than the oven and a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was a great, healthy alternative to the regular sweet potato casseroles that are loaded with sugar. Since I made it just for me I used two cups of sweet potatoes and then kind of guessed on the quantities of the rest of the ingredients. I think it was even better the next day. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I took these to Thanksgiving dinner and they were a real hit! I followed the recipe exactly, except for using a whole egg instead of two yolks, and I used 2 tablespoons of ginger. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is a keeper! I have never liked the traditional candied sweet potatoes. All the sweet potato recipes I have tried are way too sweet. This is so much better! I didnt like the idea of milk and orange juice together so I used 3Tbs of butter instead. I used 2 large sweet potatoes and kept the amounts of everything else the same. I used the whip with my stand mixer instead of a food processor. I served this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit. Most of us agreed that leaving off the pecans would be better, but that is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoastMama
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Made for Thanksgiving this year and Easter! Even the kidlet loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoastMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used 1 % milk,and a salt substitute with unsweetened orange juice.D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!!!! Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I like this version of sweet potato casserole. Not sickly sweet like others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was the best recipe that I have ever made off of this website. It was AWESOME! I made this for THanksgiving with my family yesterday and it was a HUGE hit. I did make one adjustment. I doubled the Ginger, it was perfect as my family really likes the flavor of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber_in_PDX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States