Orange-Ginger Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I like this version of sweet potato casserole. Not sickly sweet like others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was the best recipe that I have ever made off of this website. It was AWESOME! I made this for THanksgiving with my family yesterday and it was a HUGE hit. I did make one adjustment. I doubled the Ginger, it was perfect as my family really likes the flavor of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber_in_PDX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made this casserole for Thanksgiving and highly recommend it. I dislike over-sweetened sweet potatoes on the dinner table (too much like dessert). This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. It is similar to the old, standard combination of sweet potatoes and orange juice, but has some added body from the eggs and milk. I used the juice and zest from two whole oranges and the casserole had a nice, orangy flavor. Next time I might add more ginger, as I didn't taste that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I also dislike the all-too sweet and rich yam casseroles. This was a wonderful and healthy change of pace! I wrapped the potatoes in foil and put them in the oven while my turkey was baking. After taking out and resting the turkey, I popped the casserole into the oven to bake, making this so convenient to make and not taking up oven space. I loved the subtle sweetness and the blend of flavor with the orange and ginger. I did add some candied ginger to the food processing of ingredients and liked that alot. With the addition of the egg, this puffed up nicely. The crunch of the roasted pecan added wonderful flavor and texture. I was tempted to sub out some of the oj for some bourbon but I decided I will try that next time. I love sweet potatoes with a holiday meal but up to this point I usually baked them because of being so turned off by 'dessert casseroles'. One could add honey if the sweet potato was not sweet enough. *I also used fat free plus milk, which is skim but has the taste and appearance of 2%. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Thanks for a lower-calorie alternative! My quick tip? Microwave the sweet potatos, let them cool a few minutes, and the potatos "shrink" from the skin, making peeling a breeze. Also, I whip my potatoes rather than put in the blender--gives a little more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoastMama
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Made for Thanksgiving this year and Easter! Even the kidlet loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoastMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Great alternative to the overly sweet sweetpotato dishes! I do suggest that you do not waste time in roasting the potatoes - way too much time and effort. If you have a pot with a steam basket, try this: Fill pot with water (up to about 2 inches below basket) & start heating it up on the stove. While your water is heating, peel and cut your potatoes into pieces - as uniform as possible - so it cooks evenly. By the time you are done prepping, the water should be just about boiling. Just fill up the basket with your potatoes and place the lid on. It took me about 10 minutes to steam mine, because I cut it into about 1/2 inch squares. You will be able to tell when they are tender enough to mash in the processor and you don't have to wait for them to cool down like you would with baking! Makes the whole first step take about 20 minutes, versus 90+. I also added about a dozen drops of red pepper sauce (tapatio or you could use tabasco) - not enough to make it spicy, just to impart more depth to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used 1 % milk,and a salt substitute with unsweetened orange juice.D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!!!! Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
It wowed everyone on Thanksgiving, and it was the first left-over to disappear from the fridge. Full of real flavor, not just sugary-sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Everyone at the Thankgiving table loved it. It went very well with cranberry sauce. I did add a little cinnamon to it and sprinkled the top with Spenda brown sugar along with the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States