Orange Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
My grandmother made this salad for me, by request, when I was a child. I now make it for my own children who absolutely love it. As mentioned, this does go over very well at family gatherings, especially with children who are picky eaters. So quick and easy; perfect for those evenings when the family asks, "What's for dessert??". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.C.Cookin'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I love this recipe, so easy, and a little good for you. I think that next time I will add more oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Townshend, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I remember my mom making this for my 5th birthday and I have loved it ever since. I have made variations with 1 small box of cherry and 1 small box of orange jello. I also prefer to use small curd cottage cheese to cut down on a potential mouth full of cheese-only and usually add additional oranges or a can of pineapple chunks. can't wait to make this same recipe for my kids some day. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Update: Made this again for a luncheon, this time I added marshmallows to it (posted pic). Original review: I used this recipe, but kind of combined it with another recipe that I had. I was a little nervous about putting the powdered gelatin in with the other stuff, and not actually making the jello per say (ie boiling the water). But it actually turned out really well! I subbed the cottage cheese for 8 oz. of sour cream and added cherries & crushed pineapple. My 3yo is calling this 'shark salad' since we got the other recipe with the cherries and cr. pineapple from the kids section of our local newspaper and the section was about sharks, LOL! (: Thanks for the post! My 3yo had like 5 bowls through the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I made some changes based on what I had in my cabinets so I used canned strawberries and strawberry/banana jello instead. I thought this was good but I think its just a bit too sweet for my taste to eat plain. I liked it spread on a bagel for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Easy to make, perfect as a light side dish with summer meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Great recipe! My mom makes this every year during the holidays. She also adds crushed pineapple, it makes it extra good!And, she puts some of the mandarin oranges on top!I actually made it this year and my kids can't wait to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I have made this same recipe with strawberries, and it is great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Love this-this can be doubled to feed a bigger crowd if need be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
this is really good. i'm going to try it next time with strawberries and strawberry gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States