Orange Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
A variation of this recipe--which have we affectionately christened "Pink Stuff"--is a must for all our family get togethers. We use strawberry flavored gelatin mix (dry) and drained pineapple tidbits or drained crushed pineapple in place of mandarin oranges. We recently started adding fresh sliced strawberries and blueberries to it...pure bliss! This light salad/dessert goes well with a heavy meal. I serve it in an older Princess House ice bucket for that added splash of prettiness...tea cups/saucers also make a nice presentation! Quick, easy and so DELISH! Recommend using the thawed frozen whipped topping as the you-whip types of topping do not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
One container of cottage cheese is plenty for this salad. I like to triple the oranges in this salad and I add one bag of mini marshmallows to help soak up some of the "juice" that comes when this salad sits. My husband swore up and down that he didn't like "fluffy" salads until he tried this one and ate three bowls, back to back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I have had this desert for years on the holidays. My mom discovered this many years ago and it became a family tradition. This is my moms favorite holiday desert. It is sad that she can no longer make this for herself and we have moved out of state. My sister doesn't cook on the holidays so my mom may never get this desert again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So glad to have this recipe! Funny story...I'll keep it short...A co-worker brought this to a work pot luck...I was so excited, afterall it was one of my favorites. She didnt like me so well..when I told her it was one of my favorites, she grabbed it and put it away in the fridge. HaHa now I can make my own! Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This has been a favorite of mine for years! It's so quick and easy. I use it for a lot of church potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna VonEye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
can also use lime jello and pineapple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is a hit at any party. I also take this to funerals as it can be dropped off the night before. Never come home with leftovers. Strawberry is also a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
very nice and light with just the right consistancy for us.I used all your ingredients but used low fat,low carb products.Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I love love love this! As dessert or as a sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helzbelz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This is comfort food. My family made jello salads for every family outing during my years at home. My mom used to use a blender to smooth out out the texture and then add the fruit. I love dishes like this - 5 minutes to put together! I recommend using small curd cottage cheese. I used fat-free cottage cheese, and sugar-free whipped topping. Unfortunately, I didn't have any mandarin oranges on hand - and it was fine without. This had 2-3 hours to set, but could have used a little more. Enjoy everyone - and thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States