Orange Fluff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
A fun, easy recipe. I made it as written, except I added about 1 cup of mini marshmallows. It's a great balance of sweet, with a little tang from the cottage cheese. The texture of the cottage cheese did not bother me at all - it really blends in. I took it to my book club and no one guessed there was cottage cheese in the recipe. A few tips - mix in a BIG bowl. The whipped topping goes down a little in volume as you stir, but it takes a big bowl to have enough room to mix. Also, it does not keep very well. After 3-4 days, the texture is not quite the same and liquid begins to separate. Try to finish it all in a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I think this would be better with pineapple chunks instead of crushed. The crushed makes the consistancy gritty. Other wise it's pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Great and light tasting! I had to use 2 15oz cans of mandarin oranges (saved 1/2 dz chunks to eat and 1 20oz can pineapple chunks - couldn't find crushed so saved a few chunks to eat later! We enjoyed this alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klawock, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I think the unit of measures are wrong on this. I used 1 6 oz box of Jello instead of 2 3 oz. And I had to buy 2 8 oz tubes of cool whip to make up the 1 16 oz. I didnt even use all of the second one and I think the orange flavor was barely there. It was good though, however for sure doing coconut next time. That would make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is very good. I have also used other flavors of gelatin and other fruits. One good one was raspberry gelatin with diced canned peaches and crushed pineapple - it tasted like a peach melba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is what relatives beg us to make for holidays, although my wife calls it ambrosia. Follow directions to the letter and don't change a thing if you're trying it for the first time, though we use sugar free jello. Use both boxes for full flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Tastes great if eating it right away. Does not keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This recipe is great!! Very easy to put together, made it the night before Thanksgiving. I think next time I will add some walnuts or pecans. I used black cherry jell-o because it's what I had on hand and it turned into a pretty pink fluff that everyone liked, including my husband who is not a cottage cheese fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKI810

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Nice light orange creamcicle taste. I used the suggestions made by others. I pureed the cottage cheese, drained the fruits VERY well, and decreased the amount of cottage cheese and orange gelatin. It turned out nice and fluffy. I think these would look more visually appealing if they were served in parfait glasses, with alternating layers of mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I have had this recipe in my family for years. The only hanges we ever make were to add a box of Cream cheese cut into tiny bits. This helps it set up faster and tastes great! I do also use large curd cottage cheese. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States