Orange Drop Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These are okay. Pretty sweet. Listening to other reviewers, I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour and they kept their shape pretty well. My kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Very good. I had no problem with spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I just made these cookies while my hubby was sleeping. He strolled to the kitchen and about 6 cookies disappeared. Very good. Thank you. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is a good recipe. The icing didn't come out for me, so I added more orange juice, and also orange food coloring so people would know they are orange cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These cookies are very good! I made half batch like suggested, then with the second half I added some chocolate chips. Both ways are awesome! However, these cookies do run all over the pan so next time I make them I will add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristengenell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
A delicious subtle flavor! Reading the reviews, I added a 1/2 cup flour and more orange peel to liven the flavor. I only baked for 8 minutes exactly. They were perfect: soft inside with crispy bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prothumia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I made these cookies but based on the reviews of others I made a few changes. I used a cup of orange juice instead of 1/2 a cup of water, and added about 1 tsp. each of ground ginger and nutmeg. Also, I used half butter and half shortning (didn't have enough). I baked the cookies in muffin tins and they held their shape. They came out more like cake than cookies. The flavor was light but pleasant, I just wasn't thrilled with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I loved these! The cookies are extremely light and cake-like, so if that's not your thing, you will be disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly and had no trouble with the cookies flattening out. Not sure why some of the other reviewers had that trouble. I did mix up the batter quite a bit. It did have a mouse-like consistancy when I dropped my spoonfuls on the sheet. Maybe you need that extra air to keep them fluffy. I'm not sure. I just got lucky the first time around. Give them a second chance. They are worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
These are pretty good. Really different, I like them. Like little cakes with a sweet icing. I used an extra egg, margarine instead of shortening, a smidge less sugar than called for, a splash of orange extract to ramp up the flavor, I chilled the dough prior to baking, and only baked for 9 minutes. I had no problems with spreading. For people with questions on how fats, liquids, etc. affect cookies Allrecipes has a great resource article in Tips & Advice, "Perfect Cookies." Check out the article and you'll learn how to tweak a cookie recipe to your liking with confidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made these cookies to use up some oranges that I had. I used fresh squeezed orange juice and freshly grated orange zest. As other reviewers suggested, I added an additional 1/2 cup of flour and baked the cookies for 11 minutes. I had no problems with my cookies spreading and becoming flat. They turned out very light and have a cake like texture. They have a delicate orange flavor and would be great with coffee, tea, or a nice glass of cold milk. I'm taking them to work tomorrow, and I am sure they will be gobbled up quickly. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe, Barb. I will definitely be keeping this in my cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States