Orange Drop Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These are okay. Pretty sweet. Listening to other reviewers, I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour and they kept their shape pretty well. My kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Very good. I had no problem with spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I just made these cookies while my hubby was sleeping. He strolled to the kitchen and about 6 cookies disappeared. Very good. Thank you. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is a good recipe. The icing didn't come out for me, so I added more orange juice, and also orange food coloring so people would know they are orange cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These cookies are very good! I made half batch like suggested, then with the second half I added some chocolate chips. Both ways are awesome! However, these cookies do run all over the pan so next time I make them I will add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristengenell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
A delicious subtle flavor! Reading the reviews, I added a 1/2 cup flour and more orange peel to liven the flavor. I only baked for 8 minutes exactly. They were perfect: soft inside with crispy bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prothumia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I made these cookies but based on the reviews of others I made a few changes. I used a cup of orange juice instead of 1/2 a cup of water, and added about 1 tsp. each of ground ginger and nutmeg. Also, I used half butter and half shortning (didn't have enough). I baked the cookies in muffin tins and they held their shape. They came out more like cake than cookies. The flavor was light but pleasant, I just wasn't thrilled with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I loved these! The cookies are extremely light and cake-like, so if that's not your thing, you will be disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly and had no trouble with the cookies flattening out. Not sure why some of the other reviewers had that trouble. I did mix up the batter quite a bit. It did have a mouse-like consistancy when I dropped my spoonfuls on the sheet. Maybe you need that extra air to keep them fluffy. I'm not sure. I just got lucky the first time around. Give them a second chance. They are worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
These are pretty good. Really different, I like them. Like little cakes with a sweet icing. I used an extra egg, margarine instead of shortening, a smidge less sugar than called for, a splash of orange extract to ramp up the flavor, I chilled the dough prior to baking, and only baked for 9 minutes. I had no problems with spreading. For people with questions on how fats, liquids, etc. affect cookies Allrecipes has a great resource article in Tips & Advice, "Perfect Cookies." Check out the article and you'll learn how to tweak a cookie recipe to your liking with confidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made these cookies to use up some oranges that I had. I used fresh squeezed orange juice and freshly grated orange zest. As other reviewers suggested, I added an additional 1/2 cup of flour and baked the cookies for 11 minutes. I had no problems with my cookies spreading and becoming flat. They turned out very light and have a cake like texture. They have a delicate orange flavor and would be great with coffee, tea, or a nice glass of cold milk. I'm taking them to work tomorrow, and I am sure they will be gobbled up quickly. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe, Barb. I will definitely be keeping this in my cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog Lovin' Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States