Orange Drop Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
After reading other reviews about how the cookies spread out strangely, I made the dough into small balls and cooked them in batches of 6 as I tested sizes, I made the balls of dough slightly bigger until they were at a decent size and I could start with larger batches. My husband took them to work for his coworkers (along with Mrs. Siggs Snickerdoodles) and they were an absolute hit. They were thick and moist as some reviewers complained (personally I rather liked it, it was a nice change from the other Christmas cookies I made this year), but the frosting was a very nice touch (and very pretty as well!). I also followed another reviewer's advice and did not mix the zest in with the frosting but sprinkled it on after I had frosted the cookies: it made a very pretty and colorful presentation. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Excellent flavor and texture. Following the direction as written creates a runny, thin cookie. I should have read the other reviews and made these in a muffin tin to create a larger, fluffier cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I made these wonderful cookies along with all my other Christmas cookies. They where everyone's favorite. Had to make another batch. Thank you. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Wow! These were surprisingly delicious! I put the dough in the freezer for about 45 minutes before I baked these. I cut out circles of parchment and placed them in the bottom of regular size muffin tins to keep the cookies from sticking and spreading too much. This seemed to work really well and the cookies came out so perfect! I never thought that I would be a citrus cookie fan but these were so good and went really well with a cup of tea. Definitely will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I had the same problem as others...cookies flattened upon baking. Does mixing the leavening agents with the liquids instead of with flour cause this? I've never used a recipe that did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
A disaster - followed the recipe exactly in every way and cool the dough over night and bake and they melted into one complete mess. Just awful. What a shame one has to read all reviews in order to see if others had the same problem and then find out there were additions/subtractions to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kauai17
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
My first batch came out flatten. However, the next batch I put in for only 8 minutes and they came out perfect. The icing makes this cookie. Without it, it tastes like cornbread. Be careful when icing your cookies, the edges are crispy and will break off easily. I would not mix the orange rind in with the icing, instead I would zest it on top of each cookie at the end. Oh and I only got 2 dozen out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
The cookies came out tasty. They're soft inside - like little orange cakes in a cookie crust. I made them with margarine, not having shortening, and fearing that they would spread out too much if I used butter. Also, to ensure against "melt down" I used a bit less baking soda and baking powder than the recipe calls for. The icing is a bit sweet for me, so the second batch went without, instead i left it longer in the oven, until it browned, they became a bit crispier on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
After reading other reviews that stated that the cookies would run all over the cookie pan I decided to make a few changes to mine. In my cookies I added a half-a-cup more flour, refrigerated the dough overnight (just like a sugar cookie) and then baked them in a greased muffin pan. They came out looking just like the Allrecipes picture above. Just make sure you don't put too much dough in each muffin tin or they will come out more like short muffins than like a cookie (since they are cake-like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These had a very nice strong orange flavor. They had a lot of texture though - like wheatberry bread. I did use probably a little more zest than called for, and pulpy fresh squeezed orange juice. Was surprised that my kids did not like these much. I was not as careful with measurements on the 2nd batch I made, and the consistency did change, although both batches were still tasty. I would say you could easily get varied results if you're not super careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States