Orange Dream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Why add more sugar when the sweetened condensed milk and cool whip are loaded with the product?? Will definitly try but without sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Sounds delicious, but way too much sugar. Is there any way to reduce the amount of sugar besides omitting te 1/4 c. sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I used to make this years ago, but without the Cool Whip. Just used the soda and sweetened condensed milk. My favorite soda to use was A&W Root Beer. Just wonderful and everyone loved it. Sooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Good, but very sweet, and I didn't add the 1/4 cup of sugar to the mix. They taste like creamsicles to us. I didn't use the 2 liters of Sunkist; I just used about 2 cans and even then my ice cream maker was full to almost overflowing. I made into popsicles but I'm sure you could make into scoop ice cream and it would work just as well. Next time I think I will follow tat2whttrash's recommendation to make this in the blender--I don't have a blender, but could use it in my food processor. Once frozen, these melt pretty quickly so if you need to repackage them, work fast. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
It was really good, except I didn't freeze them... I just put them in the freezer for a bit and it was like a slush. I love it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutiegurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
The only problem I had with this recipe was i didn't have a ice cream maker so I put it in my mixer and and mixed it for awhile but i didn't thicken so I just put them in the cups and let them freeze for a little bit and then added the sticks. They turned out good. I would make them again. And they do taste like a push-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This a very easy recipe - a nice take on orange sherbet. There seems to be no limit to this recipe. The one thing I would not change is the sweetened condensed milk - you definitely need a little richness to avoid an icy result. Thank you Terri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free fall chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I brought this to an office potluck and every loved the flavor. I do not have an icecream maker so I used my Kitchen Aid. I also ised diet soda with fat free cool whip and fat free condensed milk. I think the texture was a little icy because of this, but it tasted really creamy and delicious. I had to give the recipe to everyone. We also discussed that you could modify it and use grape soda or strawberry soda for some variety. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I tried this recipe and everyone loved it. I also tried it using diet soda, and the fat free cool whip. It was good and less calories. Very easy dessert to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I make these into popsicles during the summer with dixie cups and popsicle sticks. I make it a little different, I omit the sugar and add a drained can of mandarin oranges and combine everything in my blender. Not only do my kids love them, but so do my husband and I. And all the neighborhood kids. And their friends. :) This also makes a good summer pie. Fold the whipped topping in carefully, pour into a graham cracker crust and stud the top with mandarin oranges. TIP: When making the pops, pour them into dixie cups and freeze them until sturdy, then stick the popsicle sticks in. This way they'll stay put and won't fall over or come out wonky. EDITED AGAIN: I should clarify. You need 20 oz. of orange soda. Not a whole two liter. A whole two liter is excessive. And you know, you don't need a ice cream maker. You can just use your blender. An option you can use as well is fat free condensed milk and whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Orange Pistachio “Greenies”

Not brownies, not blondies, these pistachio treats are tasty little greenies.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States