Orange Dream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chickenjuice
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This recipe worked for me!It turned out absolutely flavorful and moist.I didn't change a single thing. I increased the orange zest which turned out to be just perfect. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickenjuice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mombasa, Coast, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very disappointed. It did NOT rise. I cut into slices and rebaked as biscotti therefore not a total loss, for me, at least I got biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I just made this and am about to take my first bite..... Mmmm. I like it. I did make orange jello and pour it on the cake be for I frosted it. Besides that I didnt change anything. Next time I will use just a little less zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Light and moist with an appealing, pronounced orange flavor, but…I increased the orange zest significantly, to 2 tablespoons, and that’s in addition to the lemon zest! Used this for cupcakes and frosted them with an orange butter cream. Nice, fresh orange flavor and couldn’t be more appropriate to welcome spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I am so disappointed! I loved all of the reviews, so I had to try this cake for my husband. However, the cake ended up very flat and salty. Can anyone tell me why this could have happened? This was my first recipe using cake flower, and I bought brand new baking powder for the recipe. I would love to try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Made the cake and frosting exactly as written. It was wonderful. My favorite cake! I've made it 4 times and always a winner with family and friends. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANADACO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent flavor! I used 9 in. baking pans instead of the called for 8 in. and just baked for 18 min. or so and it turned out perfect. Came out of pans very easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Did not like it at all, wasn't a "sweet" cake the zest was too much for me, it was not for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Delicious! I creamed the margarine & sugar (we use splenda) for 3 - 4 min before adding the orange juice and zest. This made the cake extremely creamy. we didn't have any fresh lemons, so I used 3/4 cup of freshly juiced navel oranges with 2 tsp pulp/zest, and added only 2 tsp lemon juice. This recipe is high in citris so you may have a rising problem. If you do, you may want to use baking soda instead of baking powder to help rise better with the high amount of citris. Also make sure the cake pans are exactly in the center of your oven. Hint on preparing the cake pans. Spray the pans good with a cooking spray (like pam), then flour. I always spray the tops of my pans just in case I get a little overflow. Cakes come out of the pans wonderfully! I didn't use the frosting as my family are diabetics, so I used my diabetic butter-cream frosting isntead. I also added a layer of fresh manderin orange slices with some frosting between the cake halves. Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States