Orange Curried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
I took some liberties with this recipe, and still it turned out to be very tasty. I substituted apricot preserves for the marmalade and curry powder for the paste. It was very good! My family enjoyed it with steamed rice. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Very good! I used individually frozen (boneless and skinless) chicken breasts. Since they usually make quite a bit of juice when baked, I decreased the amount of water in the recipe. Also, I halved the recipe since I was only cooking 2 breasts. To seperate the 2 breasts from the plain one I was baking for my kids, I used foil. This kept the sauce right on the chicken, instead of spreading out through the pan. I served it with couscous, but had so much sauce left, I wished I had used white rice. The sauce would have been great over it. The chicken stayed very moist and had a nice appearance. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller Motley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
The flavor of the chicken is very nice, but the sauce by itself is VERY sweet and a little overpowering on white rice. I used boneless breast and had to bake longer than instructed. This is definitely quick and easy to throw together, though. The curry gives a nice kick. I might make this again in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I thought this chicken was yummy. I used skinless, thinly sliced chicken breasts. I omitted the water all together, and added 1/8 cup of soy sauce, and 2 minced garlic cloves for 2 breasts, and served it over rice. This glaze or sauce would also be delicious on baked ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This dish hit the spot for my family. Used boneless skinless chicken breasts and substituted soy instead of water. Super simple to whip up and the sweet sauce goes well over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOKAOI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Added about a tsp of fresh garlic, about 1/2 tsp dried red pepper flakes for spice, and 1/2 tsp more salt. I also recommend using skinless legs, thighs, or other dark meat pieces...the breast was just a little too dry w/out marinading prior to cooking (even after basting while cooking) for my tastes. Will definitely make dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
It tasted good, was easy to make. Nothing too fancy or gourmet about it. Middle of the week type of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
FABULOUS! I mixed a hot curry powder with the sweet orange marmalade - - what a perfect combination. This glaze would be fantastic over salmon or pork, too. I served it with a side dish of honey carrots, which also went well with the curried sauce. Thank you, Wilma, for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Very tasty for so few ingredients. I used thighs (with skin) and it was fine. Will try it with boneless, skinless breasts next time. It was delicious the next day too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JMCCREAR
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
There definitely wasn't enough flavor in this dish. I thought the orange marmelade and curry sounded like a great combination, but I was very dissapointed. I won't be making this again. I plan to pull the chicken and make it into a soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States