Orange Curried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and an smaller baking dish, therefore the liquid covered the chicken ellimating the need for basting. It was great! My husband and small children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
We (mom, dad and two teens) loved this. Used soy sauce (just eyeballed it) and no water or salt. Most of a jar of marmalade, the soy and curry powder. I have some very strong curry from India, so it was plenty spicy. TIP: the soy sauce does darken it and make it a bit less pretty, so I saved part of the jar of marmalade and mixed it with more curry powder to "glaze" the finished product when it came out of the oven. We did not find it too sweet - just right! Really good with couscous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I took just about everyone’s tips and hints into consideration when whipping this dish up. I used boneless chicken breasts, less water, 1 small can of crushed pineapple and soy sauce instead of salt. I also reduced the cooking time and added ½ tsp red pepper to kick up the flavor a bit. All and all the whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was a good recipe. Nothing extraordinary but still tasty. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast-cut into chunks and also added one Tbs of soy sauce. I chose to use the 'low sugar' orange marmalade to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I didn't care for this dish much. I was surprised since I like orange and we eat a lot of chicken. It needed something, more spice but less curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe. I used chicken tenderloins that I already had, so I reduced the cooking time--and I did as others suggested by using soy sauce instead of water and salt. Its a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BULLDOGLUVR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This is a WONDERFUL recipe, I used 1/4 cup soy sauce and 1/4 cup water, no salt. More curry and 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper for a spicy kick. Love this recipe. WILL MAKE THIS OFTEN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Great recipe, both my husband and I really enjoyed it. I followed some other reviewers advice and added green peppers and cashews which we really liked. Although, next time I think we'll add some jalepenos for a kick... it needs a little spice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Wow.. this was great ! Everybody in my family loved this, but I did modify it, following others' suggestions. I chose to cut the chicken into strips, used 1 tbsp soy sauce instead of the salt, added 1/2 tsp ground ginger, and used only 2 tsp curry powder (which for our taste, was enough). For the liquid, I used only 1/4 cup of water, plus 1 to 2 tbsps of pineapple juice. I lined the baking dish with parchment paper, which did make clean-up easier. After placing the chicken in the baking dish, I sliced three canned pineapple rings into tidbits and spread them over the chicken. 35 min., and the chicken was done. Strain the liquid and serve hot with your preferred rice. With these modifications, I guess this version should be called Orange Pineapple Curried Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I messed this one up by adding too much water to the recipe-sauce was very watery, but the taste was awesome. I followed the other commenters advice and substituted soy sauce for the salt. The left over chicken is great cut up cold and put in a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States