Orange Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
One reviewer took a star off because this cake was too boldly orange flavored for her! Quite frankly, I found barely a trace of orange flavor in this cake. I followed the recipe, except that I added a bit of pure orange extract to the syrup and I added orange juice to the batter and doubled the zest. It was wonderfully moist and light but if I was to make it again, I'll add 2 or 3 tbsp orange juice concentrate to the batter, and a touch of lemon juice to the orange juice syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Not very often I given a 5 rating, but this cake is superb and wouldn't change a thing. Of course we love orange so the amount of zest listed is perfect. Thanks for a lovely addition to my files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Everyone loved it! I cooked it in a tray of 6 small bundt cakes - I only had to cook them for 40-45mins. I made a few substitutions - like plain no fat, gelatin free yogurt instead of sour cream just for a healthier option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
A wonderful cake! Following the suggestion of an earlier reviewer, I increased the number of eggs to 3 and substituted craisins for raisins. I also used a little less sugar than specified and the cake was more than sufficiently sweet. An across the board hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
The four star rating is only because this is boldly orange flavored, a bit too much for my liking. For those that might appeal to, then this is definitely a five star cake. Given the ratio of sugar, butter and flour, I doubled the number of eggs which resulted in an incredibly moist cake. Obviously the orange syrup, which soaked into the cake, played a big part in that as well! I thought dried cherries would be a nice complement so I used those instead of the raisins. While the walnuts and raisins (or in my case cherries) are certainly a good fit for this cake, this is one occasion, probably because this cake is SO full of flavor, that I'd prefer this cake without either. Were I to make this again I would also cut the amount of orange zest in half for a more subtle orange flavor. I made this in mini Bundtlette cake pans for individual cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I'm not sure if I can rate this recipe fairly because I made a LOT of changes before I ever started. I'm a professional cake baker and I saw some problems with this recipe from the beginning; I could tell it might come out a bit dry and with not enough orange flavor. I replaced the sour cream with buttermilk (about 3/4 the amount called for) and a few tablespoons of vegetable oil. I also added half an extra egg and half a cup of orange juice. I used half white sugar and half brown sugar as well. As for the glaze, it definitely needed a lot more sugar in order to reach that "crunch" consistency it was intended to. I also added about a half a teaspoon of vanilla in order to cut the direct acidity. I didn't use any raisins or walnuts because I simply don't like them. All in all, with the changes - I acutally came out with a REALLY nice moist, flavorful cake with prominent orange flavor. This cake would be great if you used a little pineapple juice with the orange, and maybe sprinkled some shredded toasted coconut onto the glaze while it's still wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Pretty good...Make sure you wait until the cake is mostly cooled before adding the glaze. I added in dried cranberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
The name is misleading... there is NOT a crunch to the cake, but the topping does make for a nice texture to the outside. I made this for an office gift exchange which of course means it is shared among the group. I got lots of "wonderful" comments. We decided it is the prefect dessert to have with tea and coffee. FYI... not a moist cake which why it makes a good partner for tea and coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This cake is delicious. I omitted the icing, and orange rind. Very nice texture, not too sweet, just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
A great "hearty" orange cake. Family has asked for the recipe. I added half cup of orange juice to the recipe, and doubled the topping recipe for extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States