Orange Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2000
This cake is very tasty and so easy to make. My husband loved it and my children liked the orange glaze on it. A good cake for bake sales and any holiday in the year!!! Ann,TN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
This cake is the best. It has become my husbands favorite, the only one he requests. The only modification I have made is to soak the raisins in about 3 tablespoons of orange liquer for about 30 minutes. Sometimes I do not use the frosting but just sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
Finding that the raisins I had were stale,I used cranraisins instead. What a hit! My kids loved it. I also left out the walnuts. What I thought was a cake only the grownups would enjoy, more than pleased the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This was a pleasant tasting cake. My husband liked it, I thought it was just okay though. It is a good way to use up those oranges in the crisper (juiced of course). Maybe this would be nicer with craisins rather than raisins. I would make this again, with a little adapting of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This cake has become a Christmas favorite for my family! It is not too sweet and tastes delicious. This cake is great as a breakfast pastry as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Thank you thank you thank you. What a delicious cake. Moist and so flavorful. This will most definatly be a regular in my house. I made it for my Christmas Eve buffet for my family. I could barely keep from eatting it myself, it smelled delicious. I did change one thing, I took another reviewers advice and used Crainsins instead of raisins. Very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This cake is wonderful, and with the orange glaze is very rich. I heated up the sugar/OJ glaze in the microwave to help dissolve the sugar. I made it with dried cranberries, and used fat free yogurt instead of sour cream. Couldn't have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Added craisins instead of raisins and it was wonderful, tart and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
This cake was very good- Along with the vanilla I added a touch of orange extract.The crunch topping wasnt as crunchy as i would have liked but still very good-will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Moist and delicious, but mine didn't really have a "crunch." It seemed done at 50 minutes so I took it out. Added 1 Tb triple sec to the glaze and it was great (highly recommend this). Used 3/4 c vanilla yogurt cuz I didn't have sour cream and added 1/4 cup fresh OJ to the cake. Used dried cranberries and 1/2 c mini choc chips. Poked with toothpick before spooning on glaze. When I turned it out after completely cool, the other side looked rather plain so next time I will make more glaze for the top. I plan on making this one for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States