Orange Crunch Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is an excellent cake when made with a cream cheese frosting. The whipped topping is not to my liking. Use 8 oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, 3 T orange peel, 1 T lemon peel, 1 tsp vanilla extract, and 2 cups powdered sugar. Combine all ingredients and beat until fluffy. It goes great with chocolate shavings on top. It is very moist. I make it in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Amazingly good! Tastes just like the cake they serve at the Bubble Room in Captiva, FL. A bit more work than some cakes, but well worth it. Trust me this cake is always a huge hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Will definitely be making this again. The cake and crunch layer were really great. I think next time I will use 1 c. OJ in place of the 1/2c OJ 1/2c water because it would have been better with a little more orange flavor in the cake. The frosting was impossible to work with and just dripped off the cake. I think it would be fab with the cream cheese frosting recipe, as suggested by several other users (1/2 cup softened unsalted butter 8oz softened cream cheese 1 tsp. vanilla 2 cups sifted 10x sugar 1 tsp. orange juice 1/2 tsp grated orange peel.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaQ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Mmmmm. This is a yummy cake. I made as directed and would not change a single thing. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by vszucru
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is my all time favorite cake! I agree with settlindown about the changes to make the Bubble Room version. Until I knew how to make it, I used to make my sister buy me a slice while on her vacation and bring it back to Orlando for me. I use sliced almonds instead of walnuts for the crunch layer and use the cream cheese frosting just as “settlindown” outlined... 1/2 cup softened unsalted butter 8oz softened cream cheese 1 tsp. vanilla 2 cups sifted 10x sugar 1 tsp. orange juice 1/2 tsp grated orange peel. I use 1 ½ times frosting for a two layer and double the frosting for the traditional 3 layer. I also use 1 1/2 times the amount for the crunch layer and pack it firmly with the bottom of a glass. This seems to keep it from crumbling when frosting. I noticed this time I used hand squeezed OJ (Valencia oranges) and the flavor didn't seem as orange. I really like orange and preferred it better when I used the processed OJ but was able to compensate by using a bit more orange peel. Love, love, love this cake!!!! My photo is the one with the sliced almonds around the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is the BEST cake recipe ever! I have had the Orange Crunch Cake from the Bubble Room at Captiva many times and this is quite a bit like it but even BETTER! I made it for the first time yesterday for Thanksgiving and everyone wanted the recipe. The cake at the Bubble Room is either 3 or 4 layers so I made my 3 layers. For the crunch I made 1 1/2 times the recipe. I followed another persons suggestions and used almonds in place of the walnuts. I also made it with the cream cheese frosting. This isn't the exact frosting that the Bubble Room uses but it is so delicious! I might try the vanilla frosting the next time. I also doubled the amount of frosting. I was so thrilled to find almost the exact recipe as the Bubble Room says this is their most popular cake. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Am I the only one that had trouble here? I followed the instructions to prepare the pans before putting in the crunch layer and then the cake. When it was time to invert from the pans, it turned into a disaster!! The crunch layer and about 1/4 of the cake stuck to the pan. I haven't frosted it yet but I'm hoping that when I do, the frosting will hide how horrible it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe, made it for a family get together and it was a big hit. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This was good, but next time I'd make it as a coffee cake using the crunch filling in the center of a bundt type cake and drizzling a cream cheese icing on top. Cake had great flavor - I took others' suggestions and added 1 t. orange extract. I used the cream cheese icing from the site which was okay (too sweet for me). This would make good cupcakes too, with the crunch as a filling. I'd make this again, but not as a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This cake did not rate 5 stars in our house. Sorry, but the only really tasty part was the crunch, which we liked a lot. The cake itself tasted like a box-cake and the icing was not good. The orange flavor was nice. Next time, because I like the crunch, I will do the cake from scratch and use the cream cheese icing from this site which is delicious. But thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States