Orange Cream Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe was very good taste wise. I found a little trick, use confectioners sugar instead of the white grain sugar. It will make the fudge much creamier. It may take a little longer to set, however its worth the time because you get wonderful fudge with no cracks or grain texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
One reason fudge gets grainy is because it is rushed... When heating the sugar, butter and milk start on low heat (I use simmer setting) for about 12-15 minutes until sugar is throughly dissolved (put small amount on spoon, raise out of pan, let cool a couple of seconds and rub some between your thumb and forefinger, if you feel sugar it's not dissolved yet, keep stirring), once dissolved then raise heat to med-hi to bring to a boil. If you don't rush it you will not regret it. This is true with any flavor fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I read the reviews and some of you are having trouble with it turn grainy. In order to keep this from becoming grainy you will need to wrap a wet paper towel (or a wet cotton flour sack towel) around a fork and wash the sides of the pan down when you are boiling the syrup. The water that goes into the pan will not harm the syrup being made. This will keep sugar crystals from forming on the sides of the pan. The crystals will cause the syrup to sugar causing a grainy texture in the final product. Hope this helps. GRY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
We have many small-town candy/fudge shops in northern Minnesota. My favorite fudge has always been 'orange cream'. This recipe is as close to "Up North" fudge as one could get. This fudge is awesome; smooth, tasty, an delicious. A bonus is that it is easy to make. A definite "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I wanted this recipe so badly, but it turns out grainy both times I've made it. What am I doing wrong?????? Wonderful flavor, if I could just get the creamy part right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valdese, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeadHeaded
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Delicious delicious delicious! I'd never heard of orange cream fudge before and was a little worried about how it might come out, but it was easy to make. I used confectioner's sugar like someone else suggested and I had no problems with the fudge being grainy or cracking. We can't stop eating it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Wonderful recipe! I also made it with strawberry flavoring although it takes about double the amount to get enough strawberry flavor. Everyone raved about both. This year I am trying it with raspberry and also banana flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BWOOD19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Grainy, grainy, GRAINY and I used a superfine sugar and stirred away trying to disolve the sugar, but end result was still grainy. Used a candy thermo AND a digital, and did measurements by weight so I was accurate and still it was grainy. And I didn't find it as orangey as it could have been either, but it was sickeningly sweet. It was however the right consistency, hence the 2 stars. What a waste (of ingredients AND time!). Did NOT make the cut for my holiday treats baskets... too bad, so sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I had trouble with this recipe cracking as well, but loved the flavor. I decided to try using vanilla coating (like you use for making bark candy) instead of the white chips. It turned out creamier this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I found this recipoe in a magazine several years ago and have been making it several times at Christmas every year. My insurance policy when making any fudge that is cooked like this is to add 2-3 T. white Karo. I learned this from Alton Brown on the Food Network on one of his fudge shows. It doesn't affect the taste of any fudge and the different type of sugar, or glucose, will prevent the other sugar crystals from clumping together which accounts for the graininess. You can also substitute a 10.5 oz. bag of miniature marshmallows for the marshmallow creme which makes this step a whole lot easier. This is a variation on the Fantasy Fudge that has been around for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States