Orange Cream Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Absolutely a 5 star recipe...I followed this exact and this was my first attempt at a cooked fudge and it is wonderful! I followed one reader's suggestion subbing powdered sugar for regular sugar and it is creamy, delicious and set up perfectly. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! Update! 12-18-11: I have made this recipe at Christmas time for the last three years. It turns out great every time if you use powdered sugar, granulated has always remained grainy every time I use it, but I just give those batches to people I don't like...this year, I switched out the orange extract for cherry extract and nixed the yellow food coloring and went with just the red...otherwise the recipe remained the same...Cherry Cream Fudge...HOLY YUM! This recipe is a super fun recipe to play around with, so get adventurous and try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Huge hit this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I also made with powdered sugar. So good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I found this recipoe in a magazine several years ago and have been making it several times at Christmas every year. My insurance policy when making any fudge that is cooked like this is to add 2-3 T. white Karo. I learned this from Alton Brown on the Food Network on one of his fudge shows. It doesn't affect the taste of any fudge and the different type of sugar, or glucose, will prevent the other sugar crystals from clumping together which accounts for the graininess. You can also substitute a 10.5 oz. bag of miniature marshmallows for the marshmallow creme which makes this step a whole lot easier. This is a variation on the Fantasy Fudge that has been around for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
One reason fudge gets grainy is because it is rushed... When heating the sugar, butter and milk start on low heat (I use simmer setting) for about 12-15 minutes until sugar is throughly dissolved (put small amount on spoon, raise out of pan, let cool a couple of seconds and rub some between your thumb and forefinger, if you feel sugar it's not dissolved yet, keep stirring), once dissolved then raise heat to med-hi to bring to a boil. If you don't rush it you will not regret it. This is true with any flavor fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Absolutely amazing fudge!!!! i love this recipe and i definitely plan on using it from now on. I'll never have to buy fudge again. Mine did not turn out grainy at all, probably because i used half fine grain sugar (but not confectioners) and i stirred it in the sauce pan until the sugar dissolved nicely. Thank you Betty for this wonderful recipe!! You are certainly right.. it is an easy recipe to make fudge real quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nay nay
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Made this and took it to work. It really had rave review,I did read previous reviews and did use powdered sugar instead of granulated sugar. I will be using this recipe again. It is a keeper. I get the people I work with to give me the ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nay nay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This fudge is absolutely delicious. I did replace the white sugar with powdered sugar and it took a little time in the freezer to set up, but it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I MADE THIS FOR CHRISTMAS BIG HIT EVERYONE LOVED IT WILL MAKE THIS EVERY YEAR!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Lots of my friends really enjoyed this fudge. I liked the taste, but it was a grainy and really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States