Orange Cream Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
First time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly. I found it to be too runny, but delicious. I loved the apples and bananas in it. The second time I made it, I let the fruit drain for a hour before mixing it which fixed the runnyness. I added one cup of walnut pieces which really boosted the flavor of this salad for me. I made it for my family and a potluck where it was a big hit both times. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I make this a lot as we need to lose some weight. I try to use fresh fruit; pineapple, melons, apples-almost anything in season. Every once in a while, my husband will ask for a fruit not in season like peaches and I use canned ones but fresh is always better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was very tasty. I added pecans to give it more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bananass

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Wonderful! This was a huge hit with everyone who has tasted it. As others have noted, there is way more dressing than needed for the amount of fruit called for. I just add to cover fruit well and save the rest for another batch. It is quite sweet, so we have eaten it for both salad and dessert. Either way, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My family loves fruit so I thought this would be a huge hit but they didn't like it all that much and I cannot figure out why. I mike make again and tweak to see if they like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Delicious! I use sugar free vanilla pudding (1 oz.) vs. the 3.5 stated in the recipe. I rinse and drain all the canned fruit in my salad spinner adding the oranges last. I mix the vanilla pudding, 1 cup milk, and 1/2 cup light sour cream, and 1/3 c. OJ concentrate and refrigerate overnight. I refrigerate the canned fruit overnight and drain the extra juice the following morning. Mix the canned fruit and dressing together. Soak the bananas and apples in the pineapple juice and add to the salad before serving--the bananas do not keep well in the salad. Maraschino cherries are an excellent addition to the salad but they must be drained and rinsed separate from the other canned fruit otherwise the pineapple will turn pink. Loved by everyone! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Don't do what I did. I used a combination of canned Fruit (pineapple, mandarin oranges, cherries) and Frozen fruit which I thawed for two days (Strawberries, blueberries.) Even after draining over and over, when I put the ingredients together, it made the worst looking mess. However, it tasted very good, so I covered it up with whipped cream. Unfortunately after sitting in the refrigerator for 30 minutes, the whipped cream turned into soup on top of the salad, so just before serving I added some more whipped cream. By the time everyone was served (12 people), the whipped cream had melted again. My friend and I got a good laugh over it, but if I ever make it again, I will use only fresh fruit (except the pineapple and oranges). PS Despite the problems I had with the salad, people commented that it tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I make this for every potluck I go to and it is always a hit! I use whatever fruits are in season and nonfat plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. The concentrated OJ gives it such a great flavor! I have yet to meet anyone who hasn't loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Is AWESOME! after reading some reviews I used just a cup of milk, turned out great, Just with the first taste marshmallows popped in my head....dont know why haha but I think it will add a extra little sweetness and give it even more of a creamy texture? but anyway Thanks Great Recipe! Definitely going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
My granddaughters can't get enough of this salad! I leave out the canned peaches and substitute grape halves. I also leave out 1/2 cup of milk in the dressing, so it isn't too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States