Orange Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this as a frosting for Chocolate Cake II from this website, trying to create a festive Chinese New Year feel. I quadrupled the recipe and used only 2 cups of sugar. It was already plenty sweet, and frosted almost 90 mini cupcakes. I did follow some reviewer's advice and added in the zest of an orange (I forgot I needed to quadruple the recipe when I zested the orange, and had no time to zest more later on). Instead of corn syrup, I used the sugar syrup I had leftover from candying orange slices for a topper. That helped to add the orange flavor to the frosting. I skipped the coloring and simply topped the cupcake with a quarter slice candied orange. It was a huge hit at the party I brought it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this to top the Rainbow Citrus Cake. I didn't there would be enough but it just covered the cake. It's a little too sweet and could be a little thicker. Love the vanilla flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Tried this frosting with a chocolate cake! Terrific. Did think it was a little sweeter than i prefer. Next time I make it, will probably not use the corn syrup. Also used the orange peel as suggested by several others. Used fresh squeezed juice and added the pulp as well. Gave little bursts of extra orange flavor throughout. \
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
The corn syrup was far too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This is good. Used this on Orange Party Cake I. Did not use food coloring and it looked ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I made the recipe as is, but I halved it. There's not enough of an orange flavour for me, and I feel like its too soft for me - I like to pipe my frosting instead of spreading it. I felt like the orange juice dissolved the sugar once it was added, so even though my frosting was basically a dough before I added it, I just could not get it to be the consistency I wanted. Next time I'll use orange concentrate instead of juice, and just use half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OPENDESTINY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Hills, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I was not blown away but this was definitely better than the pre-made, store frosting. A bit over sweet, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
this is a fantastic icing even though I ended up having to add a little bit more powdered sugar to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carnivalhearts

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I think if I would have made the frosting as is it would have been 4 stars, but I zested an orange and added it into the mix and it was definately a five star recipe with that addition. Also, I think I ended up adding more than 2 T of orange juice. I squeezed in what I thought was 2 T and it seemed a bit stiff and not quite creamy enough so I juiced the entire orange into the bowl. This is NOT a glaze as one reviewer said... I can't even imagine what that person did wrong to make it runny enough to pass as a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Bear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Fantastic Frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States