Orange Cream Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This cake was awesome. I made it with white cake mix because I could not find orange. Next time I will use the bigger box of orange jello to flavor the cake a little more. I did use the orane extract in the icing and it did not give it an overwhelming orange flavor but I also had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this for an after work get together. It was a hit! There were a few kids that were brought along by their parents and they absolutely loved it. My mother usually makes this with orange cake but i used white. Just like a dreamcicle. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This cake was ok just not the one I was looking for. I was looking for the recipe I used a couple of years ago. It was like the dreamsicle cake that Applebee's restaurant sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was just ok. Needed a little more flavor. Neither of my kids were crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Boo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Cool, light, and refreshing! This cake is perfect for a hot summer day. I used peach jello and yellow cake mix and it was wonderful. I especially liked the cool, creamy topping. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was very good. I used a yellow cake and strawberry jello. I didn't use the entire jello, and it was just fine. Also, for the topping, I didn't use the entire topping. I think I used about three-fourths and it was right. If I had used the whole thing, it may have made it too sweet. I decorated each slice with strawberries. Guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Used a white cake mix w/pudding in it-what I had on hand. Had regular pudding mix, so made that & let it cool,& mixed in a cup of sour cream flavored w/Watkin's Mandarin Orange Fruit Dip mix & covered the cake w/that. Everyone liked it, but want to make it w/the original recipe also as some of the people would like it even sweeter. Used a spoon handle to poke the holes & the color was very pretty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Everyone enjoyed it and it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tolleson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This sounds like the recipe I've made years ago and I've been looking for it for quite some time. I make it a little different though. I use a packaged sponge cake, cut it up into bite size pieces, place in a 13 x 9 glass or plastic pan, mix orange jello with 1 cup hot water and 1 cup orange juice, while that chills for about 20 minutes, mix 1 container of regular or low fat cool whip and 1 container of no fat/low fat orange or peach yogurt, mix the jello into the cool whip/yogurt and pour it over the pieces of sponge cake, place back in fridge and let set for about 4 hours or over night. This is a nice light dessert for the summer and if you use sugar free ingredients diabetes can enjoy it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Yum! This was great. It was light and fresh...a perfect summer dessert! I did have to modify the recipe by using a yellow cake because I couldn't find an orange cake at the store. It was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Webster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States