Orange Cream Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Try use white cake mix with pudding instead of orange cake mix. It tastes like a creamsicle.For presentation I placed manderin oranges on each slice. My family & friends love it. We call it creamsicle cake. This is so Refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I made this for my husband's birthday. I couldn't find orange cake mix, so I used yellow. After I dissolved the jello in the hot water, I used cold orange soda in place of the cold water. I left the "frosting" just as is, with the whipped topping, milk and instant vanilla pudding. I wanted it to be more like a Dreamsicle, instead of all orange. I studded the top with mandarin oranges. It was a hit. And just like I remember Dreamsicles. Very good, light summer dessert. I plan on making this for future BBQ get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Bought some orange cake mix just because it looked interesting and I found this recipe. Made if for Mother's Day, and then I had to make it for Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, and now Easter. The only thing I've changed from the recipe is to add mandarin orange segments for looks and to cut down a little on the sweetness. Orange cake mix is so hard to find that I bought several boxes and am freezing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
*** Addendum: Ooops, We DID use WHITE Cake mix instead of Orange! We made this cake yesterday (over the July 4th holiday weekend) and it was FABULOUS!! We had a large family gathering and this cake was loved by all! I wanted to make something that my young daughter could help to prepare and feel proud of. It turns out this was a great choice. The recipe was very easy. We used Sugar Free Orange Jello and Sugar Free Vanilla Pudding (You couldn't tell ANY difference in the taste), and regular Cool Whip. The cake was very light, cool and not too sweet.... Overall, it came out perfect and was extremely delicious! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This recipe is excellent! I used fat free coolwhip and sugar free jello and pudding to cut out some of the sugar. I also added extra jello to the whipped topping to give it more color and flavor. Also, I tried this recipe out using strawberry cake & jello, and it was excellent! Lemon was okay, and I am trying pineapple soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This sounds like the recipe I've made years ago and I've been looking for it for quite some time. I make it a little different though. I use a packaged sponge cake, cut it up into bite size pieces, place in a 13 x 9 glass or plastic pan, mix orange jello with 1 cup hot water and 1 cup orange juice, while that chills for about 20 minutes, mix 1 container of regular or low fat cool whip and 1 container of no fat/low fat orange or peach yogurt, mix the jello into the cool whip/yogurt and pour it over the pieces of sponge cake, place back in fridge and let set for about 4 hours or over night. This is a nice light dessert for the summer and if you use sugar free ingredients diabetes can enjoy it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Used a white cake mix w/pudding in it-what I had on hand. Had regular pudding mix, so made that & let it cool,& mixed in a cup of sour cream flavored w/Watkin's Mandarin Orange Fruit Dip mix & covered the cake w/that. Everyone liked it, but want to make it w/the original recipe also as some of the people would like it even sweeter. Used a spoon handle to poke the holes & the color was very pretty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was very good. I used a yellow cake and strawberry jello. I didn't use the entire jello, and it was just fine. Also, for the topping, I didn't use the entire topping. I think I used about three-fourths and it was right. If I had used the whole thing, it may have made it too sweet. I decorated each slice with strawberries. Guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
this was a very easy cake to make. I had to have something quick for a meeting. Made this cake, rave reviews, I will use this again, but next time I will make 2 so can have some leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this for an after work get together. It was a hit! There were a few kids that were brought along by their parents and they absolutely loved it. My mother usually makes this with orange cake but i used white. Just like a dreamcicle. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States