Orange Cream Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was okay. I used a French Vanilla cake mix (it was in the pantry), and only 1/4 c cold water (to make jello parts thicker). I used 1/4c. OJ for some of the water in the cake mix recipe, so I left out the orange extract in the frosting part to balance the orange and cream flavors. I used two square 8x8 pans, and after cooling for 2 hours after the jello was poured, I stacked the cakes with frosting in the middle, then covered them in more frosting. I'm not a huge orange person, but when everyone was complimenting the ice cream you served on the side and not the cake, it's probably not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Use lemon cake mix next time (or orange) for more tartness. I used white cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
No real advantage over the plain orange cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was very tasty as well as light. A perfect summer dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khandley25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I have made this cake twice now, once as written and once with white cake mix as others suggested. Both times it was Super Fantastic! My husband could not get enough, my grandkids scarfed it down like water, saying it tasted like ice cream. I put the manderin oranges on top and with the white cake, saved the syrup from the oranges and used it in place of water in the cake. I did add extra orange extract for my personal taste, but can't really find anything to fault in this. It is fast becoming a family favorite I'll take to church and family functions for years.Update, I learned 1 thing, put the jello over it slooowly so it will have more of a chance to soak in rather than most going around the edges to the bottom of the cake, which is still good anyway! Also, I did this from memory last night and forgot the vanilla extract, but no one could tell the difference. I just can not tell how good this is, my husand and grandkids would eat this every day and beg me to make it constantly. It tastes great with the orange and the white cake mixes. I like to switch up on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Yum! This cake got rave reviews at our dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I took the advice of another reviewer and used white cake mix with pudding. I also used sugar free jello and fat-free, sugar-free cool whip and pudding mix. It was a big hit a family party. Really tasted like a 50/50 bar in a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I gave this 4 stars because it was a big hit a church pitch-in. That being said, I didn't especially care for it. I did use white cake instead of orange. I'm not much of a jello fan which is why I think I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I did not care for this cake. It did not taste like a dreamcicle to me. I rated it a 3 because my husband liked it. He loves anything made with oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I used white cake instead of orange and it was good! I think I'm going to try it with strawberry ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States