Orange Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This cake was great! As is any jello cake is, except the icing was too runny. Next time I would use less milk in the icing or just use the cool whip. Great summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brook, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This cake is OK (at best). I have been wanting to make this for a long, long time, but just never got around to it. I wasn't totally disappointed, but not impressed either (neither were my friends - I made this for a a cook-out last weekend). The cake is easy to prepare. I like that I can make it in the AM and leave in the fridge all day while I do other things. I was surprised by the taste - this didn't remind me of a creamsicle at all (well, maybe a little...). The frosting tasted creamsicle-like, but the cake itself did not. It wasn't too sweet as many others complained about (I did use only half of the package of Jell-O called for in the topping), just bland. I didn't like the fact that the cake seemed heavy-wet (it didn't cut well). I might try this recipe with a vanilla cake mix next time as the lemon one seemed out of place. Might also pour less Jell-O liquid over cooled cake as this could solve the heaviness issue. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I love this cake. I've made it the orange way. I've also substituted a strawberry cake w/ strawberry or raspberry jello and put some fresh berries on top! Mmm!!! Disappears!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I took this to work for a birthday and everyone loved it, and I had several requests for the recipe. I'm sure I'll be making it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I really wanted to like this, but its too sweet, just too much of something. It does taste like a orange push-up, but I could only eat 2-3 bites and that was enough. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is a great cake on a warm day, nice and cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bleu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I made this cake on the weekend for my mother-in-laws birthday. Everyone raved about it but I was not happy about the topping. It didn't set very well and I put it in the freezer for about an hour before serving. I used raspberry gelatin instead of orange and the flavour was great. I'll make it again but switch the topping ingredients so it's more likely to be stable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I was excited to find this recipe as my Aunt used to make a version of this when I was a child. However, upon making it I've found that I had to improvise a bit to get it the way I had hoped it would be. I used a vanilla cake mix as suggested by other reviewers & agree that the presentation of the jello stripes looked very nice! As for the topping, I wish I had omitted the jello packet, or maybe just used half of it, because it was way too overpowering, sweet, & artificial. I ended up mixing an extra box of pudding, an extra envelope of dream whip (which I had already substituted one envelope for the whipped topping) & when it was still too sweet, I mixed in an 8 oz block of cream cheese which seemed to do the trick in making it "dreamsicle" like. It went over well and I would make it again but next time I would go easy on the jello in the topping or omit it all together and add some orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I was looking for something different, but I didn't find it here. Didn't like how heavy the cake was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I loved it and thought I would try it in rassberry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States