Orange Cranberry Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
4 stars unmodified - 5 stars with a few changes. First, reduce the sugar. 1/2 cup brown UNpacked sugar + 1/4 cup white sugar is pleeenty. Second, if you don't have and don't want to buy orange extract, use 3 T of orange juice concentrate in place of the orange extract and orange juice. And lastly, the cookies do tend to burn on the bottoms (as another reviewer said), so use another cookie sheet under the one your cookies are on to insulate them a bit better. I used an airbake sheet and still had to double them to avoid burning them. Excellant fresh natural flavor in these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I followed the recipe to the T and mine didn't look like drops at all, but flattened out a la choc chip cookies. I even refridgerated them so that they would look more like drops because the batter seemed too soft. Even though they didn't look like how I thought they should look, husband still liked them saying "I don't usually like fruit cookies". They are yummy, maybe I should add some more flour or use concentrated OJ instead of prepared stuff. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADELINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
These is one of my new favorite cookies. I left out the zest and added two tablespoons of frozen orange juice concentrate (straight out of the can) and lowered the liquid to 1 tablespoon. I have used both regular and orange flavored craisins. Both were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
A nice change from the traditional cookies. Make sure you don't over melt the butter or over beat the dough. I did both on my first batch and ended up with flat cookies. Also go ahead and add the orange juice instead of water. If you were expecting a lot of cookies, just start by doubling the recipe b/c I found it didn't make that many as is. Happy snacking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfish1282

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These cookies were great! I followed the advice of some of the others and left out the orange extract. I also bought the orange flavored crasins. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
The intense orange smell from these cookies make them irresistible to me! As some others mentioned, I used half white, half wheat flour. I also did not have orange extract, so I substituted with almond. I figured that I love oranges, cranberries and almonds in my salad, so why not in a cookie?! Oh, and I threw in a few chocolate chips just for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Wow! Great recipe! A keeper! I didn't have orange extract, but I did have lemon extract. I used that & it came out great! I can only imagine how fabulous these would be if I had the proper extract! Wonderful aroma & texture! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen-Nay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Very good cookies! I used orange flavored cranberries to enhance the orange flavor. Also, I decreased the amount of white sugar and they were planty sweet. Crisp on the edges, and cakey in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These were really good! I made them with half WW flour and I also added some cocoa powder to the flour mix which really complimented the organge flavour. I didn't have any orange essence but it was fine without. I made 2 batches, baked one for 9 mins and the other for 11 mins, the 9 min batch was definitely better. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
very easy, but just not alot of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harmony, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States