Orange Cranberry Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
These were an instant favorite. I used juice from the zested orange instead of the liqueur and drizzled white and semisweet chocolate over the finished biscotti. Baking these on parchment paper, especially the first baking, made for a much easier transfer to the cooling rack. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
This was the easiest biscotti I have ever made! I always cook on a stone, and with the even distribution of heat, the cookies came out simply perfect! I did sub. orange juice for the liquor and made 1 batch with double cranberries instead of nuts - due to allergies. Overall, they were AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I've made this recipe twice now and they turned out wonderful both times, the only difference was the choice of orange liquor. The first time I made them I used Triple Sec and the second time I made them I used Grand Marnier. The batch with the Grand Marnier was superior by far. When I make these again I will bake sure to use the Grand Marnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandmaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Excellent, excellent, excellent. This was my first attempt at Biscotti and they were wonderful! I used the juice from the orange I zested instead of the orange liqueur and it worked out great! I did use a little extra cinnimon, but that is just how I like it :) I will definitely make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I thought these were absolutely delicious. I love the combination of orange and cranberry, and this cookie definitely delivered when it came to flavor. I didn't feel like taking a trip to the store to purchase a bottle of orange liquor just to use a couple TBS. I was very generous with the zest. As a matter of fact, I used the zest of 2 large navel oranges, a heaping tablespoon of frozen orange juice concentrate, and subbed orange flavored Craisins. I was afraid that these wouldn't have that 'orange zing' as someone mentioned they were a little bland. These turned out to be far from bland! It wasn't orange overkill either!Delicious! I loved that surprise HINT of cinnamon in the background. I too, melted some semisweet chocolate to drizzle on the tops for a finishing touch (spooned it into a ziploc bag, seal, and snipped a very small hole in one of the bottom corners). These are the most crumbly biscotti I have made, so be sure to use a serrated knife and carefully use slow strokes to cut through the log. It's also helpful to take the time to chop the cranberries into smaller pieces to make the logs easier to slice without breaking. A quick pulse of a food processor or some kitchen shears to snip them into smaller pieces did the trick for me. I didn't want to fuss with a knife. The dough will be quite sticky and tricky to shape into logs, but it is much easier if you do it with wet hands. These were an unexpected hit with my family, but NOT the kids LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Wahooo!!! These were amazing! We added a pinch of cardamom to the batter and it really made the orange flavor zing! We did one batch and had to do another to keep up with demand. So simple and easy to make! We used OJ instead of liqueur and did just a touch more cranberries and almonds. Would also be good with a dark chocolate drizzle. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lithium3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Excellent.. easy and delicious. The cinnamon really does add an extra punch. Followed it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was my first attempt at biscotti.. they turned out amazing! I gave them to my gran and nana three years ago for xmas..and that's all they ask me for EVERY holiday! (mothers day, valentines day, easter)...it's getting tiring! But, these biscotti are amazing, i double the recipe and dip the ends in melted white chocolate. Place in a cute gift box with a ribbon = fairly cheap xmas gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I love me some orange flavor! These are so fragrant when they are baking! I edited the recipe by using fresh OJ instead of liquer and adding about 1/2 teaspoon of orange extract to make sure I got all the orange flavor I wanted. MMmm. These got raves at work when I took them in to my eager "testers". Smiles all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States