Orange Coconut Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
Wonderful! The sauce is what really made it a hit! Originally, this recipe stated 1/4 cup orange marmalade - not sure when it changed to 4 Tbl., but it was perfect as initially written! I doubled the sauce to make sure everyone got plenty (which is 1/2 cup marmalade + 2 Tbl. mustard). I baked it at 350 for 15-20 minutes, then took it out, and turned up the oven to 450. I put it back in when preheated, and let the coconut toast until golden. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was very easy to throw together and I loved it. I did dredge my salmon in flour before dipping it in the egg and instead of serving the dipping sauce on the side I spooned it over the salmon and used leftovers on my rice. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2002
So easy and fun! What a great way to serve salmon. A wonderful change of pace from the mustard/dill recipes. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
Very easy and delicious! My husband, who made a face when I told him we were having Salmon, had 2 pieces!!! After 15 minutes the fish looked done but the coconut was still white so I put the broiler on for just one minute and it toasted the coconut on top very nicely, it really looked great when served!! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
The orange juice and coconut enhances the salmon's flavor and adds the unexpected to a salmon dish - a little crunch, a tiny bit of tangyness, and just the right amount of sweetness. Whatever you do, don't skip the dipping sauce - it is excellent! I'm very impressed that such a simple, easy recipe could make such a delicious, classy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
WOW -fantastic. An extraordinary and tantalizing affair with the taste buds and a change of scenery from the mundane diet. Be careful when using a toaster oven to prevent dryness b/c temperatures vary and the acidity from the orange juice already cooks it. Who likes dry fish? I would highly recommend this to those who enjoy a flirtatious flavor. LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This recipe is definitely going in my 'favorites' folder. We loved this! I used finely shredded, unsweetend coconut ('Lets Do...Organic' is the brand). I found that 3/4 cup coconut was all I needed for 4 fillets. I added 1/4 tsp. salt to the coconut to enhance the flavor of the salmon and balance out the sweetness of the sauce. And the sauce - it's so good! It was hubby's favorite part of the meal. I thought the salmon was great by itself, but when you add the sauce, it's excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I kind of hacked this recipe, and it was still delish! I can't wait to try to make it again with some forethought. For anyone else making it on the fly, instead of marinading the salmon in OJ for 8 hours, I marinaded about 2 and then poured the oj into the dish to bake with them. (Of course this meant the entire fish didn't have the coconut coating, but I toasted coconut to serve with it to compensate) I also didn't have orange marmalade.. so I used apple and added a ton of orange zest. It did lack something, (which was probably due to not really following directions) but it was still really good. I might try to add ginger to the sauce, I think it might round the flavor out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
we used talipia instead of salmon. but followed everything else exactly. it was easy to make and so good! the sauce is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tosha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Pretty good. I didn't have marmalade, and bf is not a huge fan of mustard, so I made him a honey dijon sauce with a creamy honey dijon salad dressing and honey. He loved the coconut salmon bit. I liked it well enough but I guess didn't like it as much as other salmon I've had. I'll have to try again when I have marmalade. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States