Orange Coconut Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I kind of hacked this recipe, and it was still delish! I can't wait to try to make it again with some forethought. For anyone else making it on the fly, instead of marinading the salmon in OJ for 8 hours, I marinaded about 2 and then poured the oj into the dish to bake with them. (Of course this meant the entire fish didn't have the coconut coating, but I toasted coconut to serve with it to compensate) I also didn't have orange marmalade.. so I used apple and added a ton of orange zest. It did lack something, (which was probably due to not really following directions) but it was still really good. I might try to add ginger to the sauce, I think it might round the flavor out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My husband and I really liked this ~ Not fishy at all! But there was no fooling my son..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I didn't love this and i really REALLY wanted to. I will try it again with a different type of marmalade and use shredded coconut next time. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drodrigues101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Be warned: I only bought a 5 oz. bag of coconut, and it was waaaay more than enough. I coated the salmon until there was no more room for coconut! Unfortunately, after dredging egg-coated salmon through the coconut, I had to discard a very large amount. What a waste. I advise dumping a little at a time onto a plate and adding more if you need it. Don't throw away 3/4 a bag of coconut! Pretty good salmon, though. Even better sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was great--I wasn't sure about it was I was making it, but I loved it and I'm not usually a salmon person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Everytime I have made this recipe everyone has loved it and wanted the recipe. It also sounds completely fancy and full of effort when it is in fact simple and effortless. I have made this many times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I tried this recipe because it was very different I usually BBQ my Salmon. It was good, a little to sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amie
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
i liked the salmon a lot but not so much of the dip, my husband on the other hand didnt like the salmon but loved the dip. thank you on my part for this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I don't know what happened, but I found that everything tasted extremely bitter. I even followed the recipe exactly. Maybe use orange jam instead of marmalade?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Wasn't that keen on this one. There was to much competition between the flavors of Salmon and Coconut. Possible a different Fish could be used? I will reuse the marmalade/dijon sauce again with the Salmon....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States