Orange Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Delicious!!perfect balance of spices!!this one will make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Like other readers said, it needs to cook longer than the recipe states otherwise it is crunchy. Also would recommend cutting back on the cumin a bit and doing 1/2 and 1/2 broth and orange juice. Otherwise, tasty and interesting side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Meidinger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. Easy to prepare. Went great with Mandarin Orange Chicken. Gave a 4-star due to the fact we cooked it for the amount of time stated and it was slightly crunchy. Will increase cooking time next time around, but we will definitely be saving the recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
The orange juice flavor was overwhelming! It was really tart and I had to steal some of my sons mandarin oranges for a little sweetness. I will definitely not try this again...and I am an excellent cook. Thank God this recipe is inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This one really didn't work out for us. It was OK - nothing special. Just tasted like rice and orange juice. Probably will never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Following the advice of other reviewers, I used 50/50 proportion of chicken broth and orange juice, and half the cumin. I also left out the onion powder and garlic powder, and threw in some chopped garlic instead. Delicious! My husband and I both loved it. We served it with the glazed salmon recipe found on this site, and some steamed broccoli. The cayenne gives it quite a kick, if you don't like spicy food use it very sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I was so disappointed with this! I finally got the time to prepare it tonight, and the only plus about it was that it was quick! I like the taste of orange juice, but 1 and 1/2 cups was just waaaay too much! And I browned the rice and simmered for 20 minutes (as the recipe states) and it was still crunchy and undercooked. I felt as though I was eating uncooked popcorn kernals! Despite that, I took a couple more bites but the OJ was just too overwhelming! I hope my garbage disposal enjoyed it! I'm thankful this was cheap to make, otherwise I would be thorougly disgusted! It might be delicious for someone else, but not my cup of tea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I love my rice and this recipe hit the spot! Orange juice with rice? Who would have thought? The spices listed for this recipe have the perfect amount. Just make the cayenne pepper mandatory rather than being an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
not that good at all. I think It was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I make this rice about once a week - it's my husband's absolute favorite!!! It goes with everything, but really well with pork tenderloin and chicken. It's the black pepper that really adds the spice, so cut down on that if it's too spicy for you. Also, I add chopped mandarin oranges with the cilantro at the end and it really makes it pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States