Orange Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Although my family didn't care for this (they said it tasted weird), I thought the blend of flavors was excellent. I made this for dinner along with 2 other recipes from this site, the caramalized chicken and bacon and cheddar stuffed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Really different, but quite good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
this was just ok. i felt like something went wrong - the orange juice flavor was pretty strong and a bit over powering. i think my guest were being nice by saying it was 'really' good but it did taste better the next day as reheated leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Loved this. Made it mostly as written, but didn't brown the rice (lacked both time and patience) and used 1 cup of orange juice and 1 cup of stock, because my husband tends not to like things too sweet. I kept all of the spice proportions the same; even though it seems like 2 tsps of cumin would be overwhelming, you need that much to cut through the sweetness of the OJ. Like others, my rice could have used another minute or two, but I was being pretty casual about timing so that could have been my fault. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is a surprisingly easy and delicious dish. We used homemade orange juice, which doesn't get it a bright orange, but still a pleasing color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
It was good and the chicken broth and orange juice was just enough to keep the rice moist. Cayenne pepper is definitely needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I left out the cumin (not a fan) and added just a pinch of cayanne pepper. I read the reviews and did half broth and half juice as well. I also added the juice of 1/2 a lime when I took it off the heat, and it was wonderful! Very interesting flavor combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
For as fun and tasty as this recipe sounds and looks, its not really all that tasty. I don't think the orange juice and the seasonings went well together. I did enjoy cooking this recipe, i was very excited as well as apprehensive about the orange juice, but im glad i tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Really good! Nice favor - a little kick, but not too much. It reminded me of a Moroccan dish. Based on what other reviewers said, I cut down the cumin to 1 tsp. and used equal parts oj and broth (1 cup each). I did need to cook it longer than the stated 20 minutes as the rice was still crunchy, even after the liquid was absorbed. Everyone who ate this dish really liked it. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States