Orange Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was a hit at a cookout we had....went well with grilled chicken and steak...very refreshing!I would recommend letting it cook for at least 30 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This side dish was made exactly to specification, except we inserted the dash of ginger that so many recommended in their comments. Unfortunately, I still found the dish slightly bland, and the consistency was horribly sticky and the rice clumped together something terrible. I served it with Bev's Orange Chicken (as the Main Course), but even the gravy from the main dish did little to help separate the clinging pieces of rice. *Note: My daughter made this in her rice cooker, which very rarely fails in fully cooking such a rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This rice was good but a little too much with the cumin. If your not a big fan of cumin I suggest don't add so much or don't add it at all, but over all it was delish & loved the orange taste w/cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Fantastic! My husband and I both loved it. We have cilantro in the backyard and this gives us one more reason to use it. Instead of cayenne I added some chili peppers and the subtle heat was perfect. We will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent. Everyone loved this! I added orange zest for more orange flavor and used long grain rice so I had to cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I added extra orange juice at the end and an extra 10-15 minutes cooking time and it was still a little crunchy. I didn't mind the al dente but the rest of the family didn't care for it. I made it with Smoky Mountain chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Good rice! I used water instead of chicken broth, and vegetable oil instead of butter, and it turned out good! Only weird thing, the bottom of the rice burned... maybe I had the heat on too high. Still tasted good, even with a few burned bits :-) Served with tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This recipes was tasty. However I had to cut down on the amount since I was only making for two people. I might have put too much cumin but I also think next time I need to omit the cayenne pepper since I don't like too much spiciness. I could taste the orange flavor in the rice. was nice. I made this rice with, "Marinated Tuna Steaks," from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I only gave this a 3 because my husband liked the flavor. Despite adding extra broth and simmering for one hour, the rice came out crunchy. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is a really tasty variation for a rice side dish. Because I wanted a milder flavor, I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used 1 cup chicken stock and 1 cup orange juice. I also used 1 tsp cumin instead of two. I've made this with parsley when that's what I have on hand. The flavor is milder, but still good. I put everything in my rice cooker, and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States