Orange Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is a really tasty variation for a rice side dish. Because I wanted a milder flavor, I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used 1 cup chicken stock and 1 cup orange juice. I also used 1 tsp cumin instead of two. I've made this with parsley when that's what I have on hand. The flavor is milder, but still good. I put everything in my rice cooker, and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made a huge dinner, with chicken, boneless pork chops and multiple sides. Everyone's favorite dish? The orange-cilantro chicken, the afterthought. :) I picked it because the chicken had orange juice in the sauce and I wanted the side to complimnt it. It was my personal favorite, as well. I'm making it again tonight, to go with another chicken meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Okay, but could have been more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
this was awesome. I never thought about putting oj in rice-but it was super good. I actually made it in my rice steamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Made just as recipe showed, with the exception that we added just a little more cayenne. Wonderful flavors and a perfect dish for company. This will be a new favorite in our household - thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was SO good even my kids gobbled it up! One slight modification was that I used pineapple juice instead of orange and added pineapple tidbits. I served it with salmon marinated in the same juice/spice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was way to tangy. I followed the recipe without making adjustments. I think it would probably taste better with more Chicken Stock and less OJ. Maybe even some orange zest instead of orange juice as it the juice really just makes the rice take on the profiles of OJ but not much of the flavor. I personally would prefer the flavor without the Sweetness or Tang, when it comes to eating rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This makes a nice side dish for when you're in the mood for something different. I decreased the amount of OJ to one cup and increased the broth to one cup. It was just sweet enough without being overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I followed other people's suggestions, using 1/2 OJ, 1/2 broth. I still found the orange flavor overpowering. It was edible the first time, but the leftovers seemed to taste even worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
POSSIBLE WITH MINUTE RICE! I too cut back on the cumin to a tsp and didn't have any onions handy. However, you boil everything together except the cilantro, throw in the minute rice, let it do its thing, and then toss with cilantro. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States