Orange Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Made this for the first time tonight & it was a hit all around. My 12-year old daughter even loved it & went back for more! Because I live at high altitude and saw other comments about needing more liquid, I increased the chicken broth to 1 1/4 cup and the orange juice to about 1 3/4 cup for a total of 3 cups liquid. This worked well for me and kept the rice from being crunchy. I also only had basmati rice on hand, so that's what I used. I used the full 2 tsp. of cumin and the cayenne pepper, plus all other listed spices. I served it w/ seasoned pork tenderloin and a big green salad. This rice dish was delicious and flavorful - looking forward to making it again soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoCo Mom of 3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Very bland. Orange overpowered everything else. Didn't use as much cumin because 2 tsp is way too much. Deleted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Awesome! I have a super picky eater and even he loved it. Did cut the cumin down to 1tsp. And oj and chicken stock to 1 cup each but awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent! I made it with the Texas Curried Chicken. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was a hit at a cookout we had....went well with grilled chicken and steak...very refreshing!I would recommend letting it cook for at least 30 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This side dish was made exactly to specification, except we inserted the dash of ginger that so many recommended in their comments. Unfortunately, I still found the dish slightly bland, and the consistency was horribly sticky and the rice clumped together something terrible. I served it with Bev's Orange Chicken (as the Main Course), but even the gravy from the main dish did little to help separate the clinging pieces of rice. *Note: My daughter made this in her rice cooker, which very rarely fails in fully cooking such a rice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This rice was good but a little too much with the cumin. If your not a big fan of cumin I suggest don't add so much or don't add it at all, but over all it was delish & loved the orange taste w/cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Fantastic! My husband and I both loved it. We have cilantro in the backyard and this gives us one more reason to use it. Instead of cayenne I added some chili peppers and the subtle heat was perfect. We will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent. Everyone loved this! I added orange zest for more orange flavor and used long grain rice so I had to cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I added extra orange juice at the end and an extra 10-15 minutes cooking time and it was still a little crunchy. I didn't mind the al dente but the rest of the family didn't care for it. I made it with Smoky Mountain chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States